Time Travel - The Grandfather Paradox

in Alien Art Hive3 years ago (edited)

The “grandfather paradox.”: This says that if you traveled back in time to kill your grandfather when he was young, doing so would mean you’d never be born. If you were never born, you wouldn’t be able to travel through time to kill your grandfather. Source

A interesting and perplexing paradox that has many different answers, but no solutions. So we are still guessing. When I read this, and followed links to a source article about the Grandfather Paradox on Science: What Is the Grandfather Paradox? it took me back to a time decades ago when I painted this piece:

consumption_of_time_by_artofthemystic-d1osm6cFILTER-WEB2200.jpg
CONSUMPTION OF TIME - acrylic on canvas - 1976

I had posted this painting before, some 3 years ago, after I digitally restored the only photo I had, taken after it was badly damaged. In a way, that is sort of a time-travel, or else I wished I could have in order to save the actual painting. The work is still stored in my Canadian house where my family lives.

Back to the paradox:
Physicists especially have taken an interest and formulated various possibilities to get around these obstacles. Even Stephen Hawkings had a concept called chronology protection conjecture, which uses the idea of multiple timelines. According to him, instead of killing your grandfather, you’d just create a new timeline. One with him dead while the original one continues where he’s alive — both timelines would proceed indefinitely. Source

Of course what Steven Hawkins says is quantum-physics 101

So far, I could agree, but I found the rest of the paper from which I quoted sort of weak. That is why I called up the links, and as a visual artist, I feel this quote to resonate the best with me:

The mind is still the safest way to time travel

Source

Follow these links in the order I did:
The Paradox of Time Travel May Have Been Solved by an Undergrad
What Is the Grandfather Paradox?
The Chronology Protection Conjecture

And lastly, check out a zoomable image of my artwork on my Easy-Zoom site - unfortunately I cannot embed stuff (something the blockchain could think about allowing?) - so the link will have to do: Consumption of Time on Easy-Zoom



Visit my website

ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg

PRINTS OF MY ARTWORK AVAILABLE HERE:
PIXELS SHOP BANNER.JPG
13122819_875562545923591_2724879621137156873_o-crp500sm.jpg
at the Fuchs Villa in Vienna
If you find this useful, please repost!
MY INTRODUCTION - ABOUT MY WORK

should you not be on the blockchain, or have no upvote power, or this post is already older than 7 days, you can always just buy me a coffee.

Sort:  

Super interesting topic! I partly agree with Steven...but I can't understand how the new timeline can coexist with the old one...It's super complex!!
!discovery 30


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Absolutely awesome painting- I feel like it would make a great album cover for a trippy band!!!!!

First off that's an amazing painting, I love surrealism, reminds me of Salvador Dali. I'll have to check out your other stuff . Also, this paradox has always fascinated me because it's mind boggling. I do believe in many different dimensions, I mean, how else would we have dejavu? There have been many times that I've had a dream of me being someplace I've never been, around people I've never met, and then about 5 to 10 years later it happens. Everytime it's happened, it has raised the hairs at the back of my neck, sends shivers down my spine and I immediately get an out of body experience. And I can remember everytime it's happened as if it's happened yesterday.