Pathfinder Outflow - Photo Filters and Effects Contest - Week 15

in Alien Art Hive4 years ago (edited)

pathfinder_outflow_anigif_3.gif

This is my entry for @bliss11's contest.
I love taking pictures, and thanks to this contest, I've learned to do a lot more with filters and simply having fun. Sometimes I find a new picture for my Redbubble, TeePublic and Deviant Art accounts, but other times, it's just fun (like with the animated gifs.)

Today's picture was created using Lunapic's filters... This image had several layers of filters. I think I started with "sadness" then added "space" and finally the "smoke" effect (or maybe some other direction...) I get lost after a couple of layers!

Anyway, this was my favorite result when playing with these images of the outflow of Pathfinder Dam from our June visit.

DSC_2374_1600.JPG

DSC_2375_1600.JPG

Unlike previous entries, I deliberately tried to catch multiple pictures for doing this gif. They weren't perfect and I only got two images to work this time, even with tiny slivers and rotations to make them as close to the same as possible.

Here are some of the other versions I captured. Which is your favorite?

The first one used the "candy" filter plus the "space" filter at Lunapic. I really do like this result.

pathfinder_outflow_anigif_1.gif

pathfinder_outflow_anigif_2.gif

I'm pretty sure this one was using the "sadness" filter plus "smoke" (I simply added "space" to it to make my entry gif.)


Image taken in June 2020 with my Nikon D7200.

Previous Entries...

Week 4 Oak King Sculpture (2nd place)Week 5 Yellow Potentilla
Week 6 Sand Swallowtail FantasyWeek 7 Daisy Macro Fun
Week 8 Pink Columbine FlowerWeek 9 Kitten Cloud
Week 10 Pink Blossom TrioWeek 11 Flowing North Platte (animated)
Week 12 Pink AquilegiaWeek 13 Magical Pathfinder (animated)
Week 14 Little Green Butterfly (3rd place)Week 15



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter
kofi_giphy.gif





Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Discord Link

Sort:  

Very cool gifs. I prefer the last one, it looks quite artistic. 😁

I like that one too, but felt that adding a little sparkle would add to the water in general. It was a hard decision though.

 4 years ago  

What a cool looking dam, all those colors on the rock :o Best of luck in the contest!

Thank you!
This spot is just the outflow of the dam and of Mother Nature construction, only human-altered. The colors are almost certainly due to the various minerals such as iron and sulfur. Not sure what else though.
Thanks for stopping by.

Pretty cool gif you made this time....looks really animated lol. Lunatic sure gave a nice edits result...nice one. Thanks for a lovely entry. 🤗

Thanks. It gets easier and better with practice, that's for sure!

Good job @viking-ventures, the one you chose for the contest looks like a mix between the other two and is really interesting and allegorical to me... from the other two I would take the dark version, it reminds me of those old vessel paintings and such kind of stuff.
Thanks for participating, really appreciated 🤗🤗🤗

Yes, it is a bit of a blend. The "candy" filter wasn't used for the final, but the other parts of both were combined. The interpretation of the water was the most important part of this one for me.
I'm glad you like it.

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @priyanarc and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

Such lovely waterfalls!