Nature in the eyes of an ant

DSCF0567.jpg

Shot with Fuji X-T4, Fujinon 80mm f/2.8 macro

Okay the title isn't exactly right. Some ants are completely blind and I don't know how they actually see with their eyes. It could be like a fisheye-looking or just lights dunno LOL. But just imagine yourself you're as tiny as an ant and everything around you that was once small (as a human) is now so big.



DSCF0566.jpg

Like this for example. Can you guess what these are? These are actually moss. These grew on a rock if I remember it correctly. Hmm, it might be on a tree trunk lol I wish I have taken a behind the scene as well. Maybe next time. :D

It's incredible to see that this is how it looks like up close. For tiny insects it looks like really big plants lol.



DSCF0573.jpg

These were from a tree as well.



DSCF0574.jpg



DSCF0579.jpg

I'm glad I was able to find all these tiny details to photograph. Macro photography isn't always hard to do since you literally can take photos of everything around you but sometimes they aren't interesting. Like if these are human items, most items would be a bit boring to photograph since they're human size, there's not much details to see in items that are big. If it's a smooth surface then it would be boring af.

But in nature you can find a lot of interesting stuff without it being boring in phootgraphs like these moss cos they're naturally tiny and have a lot of details in them. :D



DSCF0586.jpg



DSCF0447.jpg

I don't know what type of spider this was but it looks scary af. LOL. Using human eyes, it's not noticeable cos they're so slim and even my camera was having a hard time focusing since it always pick up the background (cos again, it's slim :P) but I consider myself lucky for this haha. Luckily I didn't get bitten or anything, I don't want to be Spiderman.

Imagine getting trap in those webs as an ant. I'd die.



DSCF0632.jpg



DSCF0957.jpg

This was one of the most interesting shots I had. You can see how tough a spider's web is. That looks like it's just hanging in one web string. Those dinner marks are also a nice detail to have. This was from a butterfly dome so it looks like caterpillars are the culprit. :P

Sort:  

Macro world is definitely a totally different thing, what is for me my backyard is basically an entire planet for an ant XD.

Loved all the pics :)

Yeah hahah animal planet 🤣

Wow im surprised you knew about the part where ants are mostly blind.

Since alot of ants live underground or in darkness, they have poor eyesight.

The Antennae are what does most of the detection work.

That means if you want to mimic an ant. Wear a flimsy blindfold and have a pair of walking sticks to guide yourself as you walk!

GRRRRRRRRRRRR very epic.

I read somewhere that since ants are mostly totally blind, they just use scents and follow the ones in front of them. That’s why you see them in line. So there’s a big responsibility for the first ant🤣

Ohh hoo, it seems like we have another challenge.

I use smell to move around but im doing the 1000 Farts challenge

Hhaaha but all in all great post!

wow, your shots look very detailed. you managed to shoot very well.

Thank you!

There is nothing like the joy of exploring your own garden through a macro lens :) are you shooting at f2.8 or do you also use f11 sometimes ?

I mostly shoot f2.8 cos I don't have enough light to do smaller aperture most of the time altho most of the time f11 or so is better to get more details haha. Maybe I could try that next time and just put the iso higher

it's worth to play with it maybe use an external LED light like the Godox-M1 i know i do 😉

I love macro-ing stuff even with my lame old phone. For example, Behold, one of my cats, a la macro:

6e662a7b9e045dc74178cd7ed5200fb.jpg

But, nothing beats Moss. Moss is a wonderland, like sand

Lol a sleeping cat woken up by the owner for a pic? Classic!🤣 Yeah I like shooting animals too especially their eyes.

That's an old phone? Pretty good for one!

Yeahhh 4 years now which is a little ancient in phone terms - If you can get one of your mega close ups of eyes I'd love to see that, fascinated by the complexities in the iris! Specifically I want to see a goat's eye

I immediately recognized that photo as moss because moss grows on the stones where I live. And the spider is really scary. Please keep it away from me!

You have spider phobia? I'm fine with spiders especially the small house ones haha but if it's big or venomous, yeah no thanks

Yeah I don't like them but I'm okay with small ones as you said 😅

Naaa, your photography is getting real good 😀✨, I'm impressed...

I can legit picture you, lying on the ground with your camera trying to get the moss in a landscape type of view 😂😂
The spider is pretty dope and looks spidermanish ...
If you got bitten, your colours would've been purple and blue...
Not bad at all😂😂

Check this guy out @borjan , he's nature pics and pretty much all pictures are fire 🔥

His macro photography is one of the best to me too😂😂😂