"BUGS "... A bit of improvised macro-photography || ENG-ESP || (12 Pics)

in MacroPhotography2 years ago (edited)

All these pictures were taken earlier today... I decided to go for a walk around 7AM, we had an atypically hot night and during the morning also the temperature was relatively high and so was the humidity.

Todas estas fotografías las tomé hoy temprano... Decidí salir a caminar cerda de las 7AM, tuvimos una noche olímpicamente calurosa y durante la mañana también la temperatura era relativamente alta y la humedad también.


_JLP8056.jpg

I


So I took my camera with my "all terrain" 18-200mm lens already attached and headed out to the rural roads around the town centre...

Así que tomé mi cámara que ya tenía colocado mi "todo terreno" lente 18-200mm y me dirigí a los caminos rurales aledaños al casco del pueblo...


_JLP7861.jpg

II


I didn't really feel much like walking, let alone taking pictures, so my pace was slow and laziness began to creep in, so I stopped for a while to look around and noticed that there were a significant number of bugs in the low vegetation growing along the roadside.

En realidad no sentía demasiadas ganas de caminar y mucho menos de hacer fotografías, así que mi paso era lento y la pereza comenzó a invadirme paulatinamente, entonces me detuve un rato a observar los alrededores y me percaté de que había un significativo número de bichos en la vegetación baja que crece a las orillas del camino.


_JLP7885.jpg

III


I immediately thought it was a pity I hadn't thought to bring my macro lens, but I immediately remembered that in my backpack was my Raynox DCR-150 lens, which I had never tried attaching to my 18-200mm zoom.

De buenas a primeras pensé que que era una lástima que no se me hubiese ocurrido traerme mi lente macro, pero de inmediato recordé que en la mochila estaba mi lentilla Raynox DCR-150, la cual nunca había probado colocándosela a mi zoom 18-200mm.


_JLP7916.jpg

IV


That brightened up my dull morning and I proceeded to experiment with that combination then...

Eso me alegró bastante mi aburrida mañana y procedí a experimentar con esa combinación entonces...


_JLP7943.jpg

V


I have to say that my Sigma 18-200mm f3.5-6.3 II DC OS HSM lens is quite a versatile lens, although the quality of the photos taken with it never reaches the quality of those taken with prime lenses. It is also what I call a "a bit dark" lens as it is often affected by low light conditions in a very noticeable way.

Tengo que decir que mi lente Sigma 18-200mm f3.5-6.3 II DC OS HSM es un objetivo bastante versátil, aunque la calidad delas fotos hechas con este, no alcanza nunca a la calidad de las que hago con objetivos fe focal fija. También es lo que llamo un lente "un poco obscuro" ya que suele verse afectado por condiciones de poca luz, de manera muy perceptible.


_JLP7952.jpg

VI


Once the Raynox lens was fitted I could see that the usual minimum focusing distance at 200mm was reduced from 45 ctms to about 25 ctms, which pleasantly surprised me.

Una vez colocada la lentilla Raynox pude comprobar que la habitual distancia mínima de enfoque a 200mm se reducía de 45 ctms a unos 25 ctms, lo cual me sorprendió gratamente.


_JLP8023.jpg

VII


But I also realised that the usual aperture of F/8 (the sweet spot of this lens) would give a ridiculously short depth of field with the Raynox lens attached to the lens, so I had to do a lot of testing until I got decent results between F/11 and F/14.... This forced me to use ISO between 640 and 800 to be able to work with shutter speeds of 1/320s which is the minimum to use the pop-up flash on my old Nikon D7000.

Pero también pude percatarme de que la habitual apertura de F/8 (El punto dulce de este lente) brindaría una profundidad de campo ridículamente corta con la lentilla Raynox colocada en el lente, así que tuve que hacer un montón de pruebas hasta que conseguí resultados decentes entre F/11 y F/14... Esto me obligó a usar ISO de entre 640 y 800 para poder trabajar con velocidades de obturación de 1/320s que es la mínima para usar el pop-up flash en mi vieja Nikon D7000.


_JLP8046.jpg

VIII


Obviously, all this set of parameters and without having a tripod at hand became a "headache" but that didn't stop me from enjoying taking these pictures.

Obviamente, todas esta serie de parámetros y sin tener un trípode a la mano se convirtieron en un "quebradero de cabeza" pero no por eso dejé de disfrutar el hacer estas fotografías.


_JLP8068.jpg

IX


I also realised how long it had been since I had been taking regular macro shots of bugs back in 2005, because the simple fact of crouching down in the undergrowth, holding my breath, holding the camera as best I could, then getting up and crouching down again..... blimey... Half an hour after starting I was already sweating profusely and out of breath... ha ha ha ha.... It's not the same when you're 35 as when you're over 50!... :-)

También me percaté de cuanto tiempo ha pasado desde que hacía macros de bichos con regularidad allá por el año 2005, pues el simple hecho de estar agachado en la maleza, aguantando la respiración, sosteniendo lo mejor que puedo la cámara, para luego levantarme y agacharme de nuevo... ¡caray!... Media hora después de comenzar ya estaba sudando a mares y sin aire... ja ja ja... ¡No es lo mismo a los 35 que con más de 50!... :-)


_JLP8099.jpg

X


_JLP8088.jpg

XI


I think I'll repeat this experience very soon, but next time I'll take a monopod or a tripod with me, maybe that will improve the results. Besides, I'll be careful to set my camera for RAW captures because this time I forgot it and I took these photos in JPG, which is why I edited them directly in PS and I had little room for manoeuvre to make adjustments and especially sharpening that I would have liked to do.

Creo que repetiré esta experiencia muy pronto, pero la próxima vez llevaré conmigo un monópodo o un trípode, quizás eso mejore los resultados. Además, tendré cuidado de colocar mi cámara para capturas en RAW porque esta vez lo olvidé e hice estas fotos en JPG, razón por la cual las edité directamente en PS y tuve poco margen de maniobra para realizar ajuste y sobretodo afilados que me hubiese gustado hacer.


_JLP8116.jpg

XII


Thank you very much for stopping by and appreciating... I'm sure we'll see each other soon with more macro photos... Greetings to all!

Muchas gracias por pasar por aquí y apreciar... Seguramente nos veremos pronto con más macro fotos de por medio... ¡Saludos a todos!


END / FIN

@jlinaresp


"We make photographs to understand what our lives mean to ourselves." - Ralph Hattersley.

"Hacemos fotografías para comprender lo que nuestras vidas significan para nosotros mismos." - Ralph Hattersley.

CED_DSC1187BN-horz.jpg

Camera: Nikon D7000 | Lens: Sigma 18-200mm f3.5-6.3 II DC OS HSM + Raynox DCR-150
Cámara: Nikon D7000 | Objetivo: Sigma 18-200mm f3.5-6.3 II DC OS HSM + Raynox DCR-150
Montalbán, Carabobo, Venezuela.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jlinaresp ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Nice to see some Macro photography of you , raynox lenses can perform very well , never used them myself.
A Nice collection you have to show us here today i love thegrashopper portiat hope tosee more of you ghere soon.
The problems with narrow depth of field i recognize from the 2.5 and 5* magnifications , i also recognize not being 35 any more but i stil prefer to do macro without a tripod or monopod.

Thank you very much for the appreciation my friend @stresskiller glad you liked the photos.... Thank you very much for reading too!.... I hope I can keep posting macros here.... Especially if it's about insects... Many years ago -(when I was 35 ha ha ha :-)) - I used to do a lot of insect macros, but with time I liked street photography more... ;-)

Amigo admiro tanto tu trabajo… cada vez qué pasó por acá no dejo de sorprenderme con lo que veo.
Logras capturas la belleza que para uno a simple vista no puede apreciar por completo. Vienes y la compartes por acá, para mi es un gran honor poder observar todo tu trabajo.
Realmente esa caminata mañanera ha traído grandes frutos.
Los insectos no son de gran agrado para mi..pero no puedo negar la sorprendente belleza y elegancia que traen consigo.
Muy buen post✨🧡

Muchas gracias por ese motivador comentario @sannae.art!... Saludos ;-)

uy !, que interesante, siempre me han dado curiosidad la cara de los insectos, estas fotos macros siempre me fascinan!

Muchas gracias por el aprecio ! ;-)

This is the advantage of #macrophotography which can show the details of the target object, such as those cute little animals that look very beautiful.
Nice shot of you mr. @jlinaresp

Thank you very much for the appreciation and support!;-)

Dear friend! There is not a single photo I don't like, they are all great. It's a good lens and as you describe it, it's an all-rounder. Nice details, excellent as always

Querido amigo! No hay una sola foto que no me guste, son todas geniales. Es un buen lente y como lo describes tu es un todo terreno. Que bueno detalles, excelente como siempre tu trabajo

!discovery 30

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

¡Uao, sentí que estaba hojeando una revista de National Geographic! Estas imágenes están supremas amigo @jlinaresp y tu texto muy educativo para los que nos gusta la fotografía, sobre todo de naturaleza como a mí jejeje, ¡saludos!

Ok, con eso de "National Geographic" ya me sonrojé!!!.. je je je :))

Muchas gracias por el aprecio y el encantador comentario!.

!PIZZA

Great macro with great focus and quality

Thank you very much dear friend @orlandumike for the appreciation and support!


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Thank you very much my dear friend for your support!

¡Cuántos insectos! Pensé que vería fotos de dos o tres, pero me he llevado una agradable sorpresa. Excelente trabajo, @jlinaresp.

Hace poco empecé a leer sobre fotografía (aún me estoy familiarizando con tantos tecnicismos) para lograr mejores tomas y experimentar en el proceso. Me complace poder aprender también con tus publicaciones.

Saludos cordiales.

So many insects! I thought I'd see photos of two or three, but I was pleasantly surprised. Excellent work, @jlinaresp.

I recently started reading up on photography (still getting familiar with so many technicalities) to get better shots and experiment in the process. I'm glad to be able to learn from your posts as well.

Best regards.

Muchas gracias estimado amigo @juniorgomez por tu aprecio y amables palabras... Me alegra que estés indagando sobre fotografía, siempre es bueno aprender lo básico, pero nunca ser demasiado "ortodoxo" en desmedro de esa "esencia y estilo" que se lleva dentro... Yo he sido bastante empírico con esto de la fotografía, pero aún así, quedo a la orden por si acaso tienes cualquier consulta... Feliz día y bendiciones!

Thank you very much dear friend for your appreciation and kind words.... I'm glad you are looking into photography, it's always good to learn the basics, but never be too "orthodox" in detriment of that "essence and style" that you carry inside... I've been quite empirical with this photography thing, but even so, I'm at your disposal in case you have any questions... Happy day and blessings!

Those are some beautiful shots my friend. Very impressive.
Does the raynox gives a good amount of vignetting in the photo result. I wanted to buy it, before I decided buy extention tube.
I have my 18-135mm lens kits, I am wandering to be able to use the raynox in it.

Thank you very much for stopping by and appreciating friend @ekavieka .... Yes indeed, the vignetting is a lot with the Raynox.... It's a bit hard to get used to the shallow depth of field, but I guess it's a matter of practice.... Good luck with that!...

yes that was one of my considerations. Maybe next time when I have a better lens I might be thinking in buying the raynox. But at the moment I think I will use the surent set up, or maybe buy some Laowa lens in the future.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @stresskiller.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@jlinaresp(2/5) tipped @sofathana (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!