Sort:  

I'm with Hive-like tech for more than 5 years now, and I still want/have to learn more and more. When it comes to governance voting it's not that hard. It's like with real world's politics: even though you don't have knowledge about many fields like economics, foreign politics, social, health care, etc. you choose those who do. Except here, when your delegate does suck you can change your vote right away, and within seconds their loses your support.
Your "power down" process weakens your governance influence over time, but every vote counts (unless it doesn't when there's 0HP)

Your "power down" process weakens your governance influence over time

So I just vote and my vote value would be adjusted as per my hive power. And proposals are like referendum. I can either help or not once they cross threshold they are implemented.

Yes, your vote value is proportional to your Hive Power (that you own, delegated in/out doesn't count). Proposals are like budget expenses, once above threshold, we (Hive) pay for it every hour, as long as they stay above the threshold.

I checked out the voting thing you are the second biggest voter congratulations, obviously I also voted. Thank you for the info. I assumed that he top 30 witness would be people with 80+ reputation

Thank you for your vote.
No, our current reputation system sucks. It's easy to get high reputation by just posting a lot of content and getting votes for that. There are pople that don't post much but they are trustworthy and reliable. Unfortunately it's not easy to figure out who is such witness. It takes time, meetings and/or chats helps to guesstimate that.

Well I read it somewhere that discord plays a decent role in someone engagement in community. I already joined OCD, Splinterlands and hive gaming discord server. Could you suggest any other discord chat worth joining?

I don't like discord and I try to avoid using it. For Hive related real-time communication I prefer https://OpenHive.Chat We have some bridges to various discord servers, we can setup more if given communities request that.