Witnessing Hive Life Between HardForks

in Blockchain Wizardry2 years ago (edited)

A bystander who doesn't work with Hive on a daily basis might think that Hive hasn’t changed much since it was launched. From time to time, even I have the impression that things are going slowly. I was on vacation for two weeks, and this was enough for me to get a better perspective after I had to catch up with everything that was done when I was not paying as much attention as I usually do. :-)

hive_afk.jpg
- Tuscany, receiving notification about HiveFest announcement, courtesy of @dobranoc

Expectations:

  • Happy, slow and steady life.
  • Add fancy features.
  • HardFork.
  • Enjoy the fancy features.
  • Happy, slow and steady life.

Reality:

  • Brainstorming, analysing, improving Hive.
  • Pre-HardForking Stress Disorder.
  • HardFork.
  • Post-HardForking Stress Disorder.
  • Brainstorming, analysing, improving Hive.

Introducing new features and changes to the existing code is not as simple as writing a few lines of code. Under the hood, Hive is a very complex environment, and it’s very easy to unintentionally break things.

A little bit of history to give you some perspective

Some of you might remember the events surrounding HF20, when (among other changes) resource credits were introduced to replace the old bandwidth.

2018-09-12

14 months after the HF19, the next version was tagged as v0.20.0, and the HardFork was scheduled on 25th September

2018-09-18

Status: 100% Operational - Announcement after the chain halted due to an unexpected fork.

”A constant was changed that should not have been, and this caused the initial fork. Your witnesses did a fantastic job of quickly spotting the suspicious behavior and began reverting to a stable build (...) This exposed another bug that resided in our fork database logic that was present due to the infrequency that this logic is activated, and which caused the minority fork to halt as well.”

2018-09-20

Release of a tagged version v0.20.1 with fixes.

2018-09-21

Release of a tagged version v0.20.2 with fixes.

2018-09-24

Hardfork 20: What to Expect Tomorrow - Posted one day before the HF20 to prepare us for potential issues.

2018-09-25

HF20 Update: Hardfork Complete - Posted after HF20 was executed.

”We are aware that users are experiencing issues posting (...) RCs are regenerating so if you cannot post now, you will be able to post once your RCs regenerate.”

”One issue that has arisen is that users who were highly active before the hardfork are presenting negative Resource Credit balances. This is effectively RC “debt” that they accumulated prior to the hardfork.”

”An unrelated issue with voting power was uncovered that resulted in many accounts having lower voting power than expected. This issue affects everyone who has posted in the last 5 days equally. Most accounts that have been active will return to their expected voting power equilibrium within one day, while the remainder will take no longer than 5 days.”

2018-09-26

Update on Unexpected Voting Power Behavior - Post explaining another temporary issue that will affect voting for up to 5 days.

”This issue affects everyone equally (aside from those accounts which have not voted in the past 5 days) and once voting power regenerates over the next 5 days, this type of behavior will not present again. In addition, most accounts that have been active will return to their expected voting power equilibrium within one day. Large accounts that have been active, but only infrequently, will be impacted most significantly. Those accounts that haven’t voted in 5 days are not affected by this issue, but the more recent your last vote the more your voting power will be impacted.”

2018-09-28

HF20 Update: Restoring Continuity - Post about upcoming v0.20.4 patch with many fixes, such as:

  • RC parameters set too low, and many users are unable to transact
  • Accounts at less than -100% RC cannot regenerate mana
  • Powering up / delegating does not increase RC
  • Users powering up, were not able to vote/transact instantly
  • Voting power was not carried over properly at HF20
  • New witness properties not returned from condenser_api
  • condenser_api.get_accounts returning invalid voting_power values
  • Some accounts had negative resource credits at hardfork time
  • Small accounts did not receive full mana upon the transition.
  • Require broadcasting nodes to have RC plugin enabled
2018-09-29

Release of a tagged version v0.20.5 with fixes.

2018-10-01

HF20 Update: Operations Stable - Posted after things finally looked stable, a week after the HF20.

2018-10-24

v0.20.6 Officially Released: RC System Update and Optimization - Another announcement.

A month after the HF20, a fine-tuned version of RC plugin was released.

Over the following 10 months, there were 6 more tagged releases for HF20 with various fixes and improvements.

(Kudos for @vandeberg and @theoretical!)

5shkm6.jpg

Here we are, three years later.
Hive is improving and developing more rapidly than ever, and I have the pleasure to collaborate with many highly skilled professionals. Our big ecosystem requires a wide variety of skills, and it’s impossible for a single expert to grasp all the details. Yet, we need to make sure that we will do our best to keep up with the highest QA standards.

”With a great blockchain comes great responsibility.” - Uncle @null

Coming soon

HF is not only for HardFork

Soon, HiveFest6 will take place in AltspaceVR, (sign up if you haven’t yet!).
You will have a chance to “e-meet” (the next best thing after real-life meetings) fellow members of the Hive community.

Restarting public testnet

Our public testnet has reached the end of life (the hardcoded limit of 3M blocks). I’ll be restarting it from scratch sometime soon, after discussing the details of potential improvements.

Hivemind v1.25.3

The final release of Hivemind for Ubuntu 18.04 LTS is not officially out yet. on my goodies-server you can find a two-week old dump for v1.25.2 (d73bd507), which I’m now updating (should be compatible with the upcoming version, just remember to run the ./db_upgrade script after restore). That should help with deploying new instance many times faster than in case of regular sync from scratch.

Sort:  

From what I've seen there has been a lot of work on performance so Hive can scale. That is vital and may have been tested by all the new Splinterlands players. I can tell it's a really complex system and will need constant work to keep it going as well as improving. I'm grateful to all involved.

See you at @hivefest!

I was there, Gandalf. I remember. You stood at the gates of the mine, saying, "You shall not pass!" Pretty sure you were holding a staff and your wizard hair was blowing in the wind. Ah, precious memories.

Stay awesome! 💖🐉💖

A nice breakdown of how life in the development is rarely as clear cut as it seems. Many get frustrated at delays but that is life of a developer.

It is helpful to step back and see how far we came. Even since the fork in 3/2020, we came a long way.

Nice good job.. plz support me...

I'd be interested to know how complex Hive is compared to other chains!

I know A LOT of stress and work goes behind the scenes daily, it's amazing things go as smoothly as they do, and for the most part it just works from my perspective as a user.

Good to see you having some time off, and rocking the Hive T shirt I notice!

!PIZZA

some time ago (feels like ages) there was a way to at least know about all the projects that are happening. now i feel that there is no way to even follow everything.

as for the chain development i read that just to remind myself how much i don't understand :D

Alot of people do not know the hardwork it takes to keep this Blockchain running and I wish witnesses would post a lot more (like they did before THE SPILT).

Looking forward to hivefest. Participated last year but I got in quite late and could not navigate my way around properly. Hopefully thinks are alot different this year.

Well I do not always get the gist of the technicalities behind HF so I just trust on those who does, but it is good you managed to get a proper break.

This is a great reminder for people about just how much work goes into these. The coordination and thought necessary is staggering. I think when hard forks don't go smoothly people forget about all the pieces in the background. A little perspective for everyone is never a bad thing.

Can we get an appimage, or something, so that we can attend on linux?

My solution last time was to use old borrowed laptop with Windows (because it's virtually impossible to survive whole event running with goggles without a break).
Another alternative is to rent a Windows VM for two days.
Maybe @roelandp has some better idea.

I thought I saw somebody say that a linux solution was found, but not until after hf5 was over.

Wen, Mexico?

Oh, actually here is how to run AltspaceVR on Linux

Thank you for following up on that.
I'm afraid real life is conspiring against me making it, this year.

I'm afraid that solution was to use remote desktop to rented VM ;-)

Not sure about HiveFest because that's at sole discretion of @roelandp.

But HiveMXtup? Anytime! :-) (well, not exactly, but almost)
@anomadsoul is a huge evangelist for that location.

Back in 2019, I was pretty sure that next HiveFest would come the continent in the left, and if that assumption was correct, the Caribbean sounded like the most attractive part both because of costs, weather, easy to get and so on, but it wasn't meant to be, perhaps next one!

OR as you say, a Mxtup sounds great for this summer or maybe around April when is low season, fewer people, cheap prices, and full sun. I wonder if we could put it on the table and see who would be up for it, without making any kind of official setup, just a bunch of Hivers meeting up as old friends like back then when Elrond was there to witness, 5, 4, 3 and 2 years ago.

Ok, thank you.
I guess I will just have to wait for next year.

I think I missed many of the events you described, I cannot say that fortunately, because I was inactive, however, I am hopeful that this time things will turn out better than before, cheer up ✨✨✨

My memory is that the hard forks used to come with post-fork problems under the old steemit team, but the Hive forks have gone much smoother, so something has improved in the process since then.

So far, so good, but it's never 100% guaranteed.

There is so much work behind Hive, I can only appreciate and admire the people who have worked hard for so long to make us have such a pleasant experience here. Thank you so much 😍

Oh, you are kind of a newbie around here? ;-) Don't be spoiled with those successful posts. It's usually sweat, blood, and tears for most of the time ;-)

Have you signed up already for the HiveFest?

Yes I understood, thanks for your sharing.

I haven't signed up for HiveFest yet.

I think it's wroth trying, even if you don't have VR goggles.

Really appreciate your hardwork and sacrifices to keep this going. You deserve more vacation. Thank you :)

More vacation, true, I'm working on it ;-)

To people like me, who just use Hive and no nothing about code surely do not know the stress put in the background.

Thanks for constantly upgrading and making Hive better for everyone. Hope your vacation was splendid?

Of course :-)

By the way, you might want to revisit your posting authorities given to variety of accounts. It doesn't look like maintained list. It's better not to authorize apps that you don't recognize or not using actively. Some of them might be (became in the meantime) malicious and they can broadcast any transaction where your posting authority is enough (voting, commenting, etc).

Okay, thank you very much. I would check it out :)

While HF20 was happening on Sep 25th, 2018 I was being cut in half to get a baby out of me! so fun I have that in common with the chain! also why I don't remember any of that LOL.

PD: How is it that you don't have grey hair you are called Gandalf The Grey! this is a fail so big!

I have, one or two ;-)

This post gave me PTSD

That in part lead to this: https://peakd.com/introduceyourself/@elipowell/meet-steemit-inc-s-new-managing-director

And the rest is history ... well except for SMTs, those will be released any day now.

Oh, that smokescreen to hide @ned's incompetence. It's not even worth to allocate bytes on our blockchain to write about it.

Ned’s complete incompetence did allow for the STINC train to completely derail and ultimately the Justin Sun attack to happen. Just think where we would be if Ned had like 5% competence? Sadly,probably still on Steem waiting for SMTs.

I remember meeting Ned in Lisbon and thinking "wow, I had imagined that his eyes would tell me how much of a genius he is, instead I got the vibes that he got there by mere chance". I remember having telling that to some people (nobody worth mentioning, I didn't know anyone back then) and their response was "I don't think so, besides he's got a great team behind". Gee, look how that went down in the end.

With all the rug pulls, scams and hacks going on, I sometimes forget that even though hive hasn’t shown anything in terms of price appreciation, it has indeed somewhat proven itself as resilient and a gradual powerhouse. In my opinion hive is as old as steem, and as an over 5 year old project I expect big things in the years to come.

With a great blockchain comes great responsibility.

Love this quote!

Welcome back from vacation) I think you had a good time 🍷🍓
Very cool place, just like your t-shirt)
Hive does not change)
Have a good mood 😘

Hello there, how are you doing? When are you going to visit Wroclaw? :-) Let us know, there's amazing Africarium which is still on our TODO list to visit.

Hi!!!
That's great, thanks for asking. How are you doing?
I think I will fly soon)))

I'm doing fine, thanks.
Aren't you around on chat anymore? (we've moved to new instance when migated to Hive)

There is so much work behind Hive, I can only appreciate and admire those who put in the long hours for us to be able to enjoy this magical blockchain coccoon. Thank you!

Great respect for the work involved and a lot of time dedicated to it. you can see that hive has changed a lot and will still change. GREAT WORK👏👏👏

Hi @gtg :)
Well, I've read the entire post, but I can't understand it all. My attention was on your photo and subtitle: You were in Florence when you received the notification of Hive Fest.
Maybe as a witness, you could have known about HF6 before the rest of the community, But when I receive the email I was traveling to Florence by train :) I just spend the weekend over there...exactly one month ago. But there were so many tourists...that I could not notice a familiar face unless it came right in front of me :)

For most of the time I had Hive t-shirts at daylight and Hive reflective vest after sunset, so there's a little chance to miss me when I was around ;-) On the other hand, we were traveling intensively all over the neighborhood. (Left part is from at Fortress gate in Monteriggioni, right part is form Volterra)
I'm really bad at face recognition, especially when I don't expect someone in given circumstances, so in case of spotting me, stand in front of me, wave and shout! ;-)

Ahhhh, obviously I would recognize Hive t-shirts but my attention was mainly on the buildings and street names 😃
You escaped the tourist crowd and I kind of envy you for that 😅
I spent a few days in Arezzo before, and during that first October weekend, I just walked around in the city of Florence, and visited the Duomo, the Uffizi gallery, Galileo's museum...and tried some cool food :)

Our "final destination" was Florence, but (fortunately!) we've planned to see all the surroundings earlier, so we started with Siena and its neighborhood, then moved to the north, to Florence on Saturday, Oct 2nd, so yes, we were at the same place, at the same time, re-check your photos ;-) We've left interiors (Uffizi, etc) to last days when the heavy rains were forecast.
And the food, yes, except thay are so incompatible with our preferred timing... ;-)

Ahah, it would be super crazy if you were in my photos 😂 the chances were minimum as I spent half sunday in the Uffizi's and travelled back to Portugal on Monday 4th :)

I am already craving for the Tartufo pasta 😋

We are running out of Cantucci! ;-(

I understand, Chianti was an incredible surprise for me. It was love at first sip 🍷.
In my first meal in Italy I ordered fetucine (?) al tartufo and one glass of Chianti, and I've kept ordering Chianti every time I sat on a restaurant ☺️.

Congratulations @gtg! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 40000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 45000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Bee ready for the 2nd Hive Power Up Month challenge!

Congratulations @gtg! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the highest payout of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Bee ready for the 2nd Hive Power Up Month challenge!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@revisesociology(1/20) tipped @gtg (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Congratulations @gtg! You received a personal badge!

Thank you for your participation in the HiveFest⁵ Meetings Contests

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Interesting events coming up, keep me posted. I don't want to miss out, keep us posted. I hope to accumulate new coins on my non-custodial wallet application from https://atomicwallet.io/.

Seriously? Thread hijacking is still thread hijacking if all you do in a comment is to mention your link.