Freewrite Day 1000 Prompt : Ten Years of Darkness

in Freewriters4 years ago (edited)


BA742E8D-E879-41AD-8A68-87FA9631E022.png


It’s been too long but I remember every second, every twilight and every season.

The pain has been etched on my heart and the cold has been eating me slowly to numbness.

I remember their eyes on me, taunting and the comments, hurting.
I remember every nightmare I woke up from, drenched in sweat.
I remember all the times I thought of ending it all and yet, continued to move on.
I remember the tears and the stench of burning midnight oil.
I remember passing out from fatigue only to find myself alone again on regaining consciousness.
I remember it all ... every second, every twilight and every season.

They were staked in a corner, pages of my memories and feelings. I douse them with contents of the old dusty canister. With one click, one spark and toss of the lighter, they start burning with blazing cracking flame, dancing along with soot, smoke and ashes.

It was almost time.

I rip the screen and spread my wings, soaking in the first sunrise.

After Ten Years of Darkness, this was my First Ray of Light.


~x-o-x-o-x~


Hey Guys!
Greetings of the day!

This is my entry for the Freewrite 1000 day prompt posted by @mariannewest
I feel privileged to be able to take part in a prompt dedicated for this special occasion.
Thank you so much.

Everyone has gone or is going through phases of darkness, just know that there will always be light at the end of the tunnel.
Don’t give up and don’t lose hope.
Stay Strong. Stay You.

*** Image Source

Love and Regards,
Rashmi

Sort:  

Excellent freewrite! Lots for me to think about for my half of the challenge!

Posted using Dapplr

Woohoo!!!
Thank you for partnering with me.
😁😁😁

Congratulations @bold-n-italics! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Whale - Make it spray and get your badge!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

What a great freewrite. Your image is great - but it is a stock photo. You might want to read this article on proper image usage https://www.uptrennd.com/post-detail/sourcing-your-images-lesson-101~NTUyNjAz

Noted with Thanks.
I thought I could use all images labelled for reuse.
Will be careful now onwards 😊.

no worries. A lot of people don't understand the proper use of images. We are here to help each other :)

oops - it's me, Marianne 😂

Sorry it's taken too long. I wanted to make the wings a bit bigger, but in the end I didn't have time! So here it is: https://peakd.com/hive-161155/@felt.buzz/-ohcph4rehv2ietk5ks1y8x6lwx56jaox