You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Am I a Writer Yet? When Can I Honestly Use That Moniker?

in Freewriters3 years ago

Writing is supposed to be fun, if there is no fun involved, you’re doing it wrong.

Couldn't agree more. I spent years working professionally as a writer… and I pretty much hated it. The writing industry has a way of crushing creativity and burning people out. I don't miss it at all.

Sort:  

Oh now let's be fair, they are just doing their corporate duty, breaking you down and stuffing you into a box that represents their own vision for your talent, the reason they employed you in the first place. 😁

I have met a lot of writers online over the last couple of years due to one project idea or another. It's uncanny on just how many occasions I have heard a remarkably similar experience.

I haven't had time to comment yet as I get very behind with replying to comments on my workdays but I loved your free-write. It made me belly laugh out loud a couple of times and if that isn't one of the top 3 reasons for existence, then I don't know what is. If I did have one criticism (and we gotta be honest about such things, right?) It could have done with more Pink ponies and purple giraffes, don't be artistically offended, it's just a suggestion!

Take good care, cross paths soon 😎

Aha! The old "more pink ponies and purple giraffes" critique—how many times have I heard that one before ;)

Glad you enjoyed my freewrite!… I'm always happy if I'm able to make people laugh :D

Cheers 🍻