Fist ACA meeting on Zoom

in Freewriters3 years ago

I just attended my first meeting for Adult Children of Alcoholics and Dysfunctional Families.
DSC_2001 1.JPG

It was a Zoom meeting.
I wanted it to be in person, but I may have liked this better.
I didn't have to make eye contact.
DSC_6046.JPG

I got to pull my dog into my lap when I felt triggered.
And yes, I got triggered.
Shit I had forgotten about.
Realizations that I STILL OWN THE DESK THAT I USED TO HIDE UNDER WHEN I WAS A CHILD AND MY PARENTS WERE THROWING DISHES AT EACH OTHER WHILE THEY RAGED OVER GOD KNOWS WHAT.
Now I am wondering, why do I keep this desk?
Is it a lifeline?
A safe space?
DSC_9319.JPG

I mean, yeah, it's a cool desk. It's old. Has a neat mechanism that locks some of the drawers without a key.
I've had it forever.
I can still fit under it, too. You know, if there's an earthquake. Or if I accidentally find myself in yet another abusive relationship.
Anyhow.
These are my thoughts.
The meeting was good. I don't feel alone.
There's an event tonight. Maybe I'll go. Meet some people in person. I'll bring my dog. If they say he can't come in, I'll leave.
DSC_2604.jpg

Or maybe it's too much too soon. I just found a new therapist. Gonna start pain management for fibromyalgia pretty soon here.
Have to remember that healing is a process. Not a solution. I tend to think I find the answer and dive headlong into it. Gotta get it done! Must fix this! Must make it better! Then I get stressed. Then I shut down.
They call them steps for a reason. You can't take all of them at once.
Well, you can. If your legs are long enough.
But then you'd just be so tall nobody could reach you.
Ever.
I want to be reachable. At least sometimes.
I want to be better.
One step at a time.
Maybe two, if I'm really excited about it.
DSC_6317.JPG


Photos and words all mine.
Thanks for reading.