THE LADY IN THE CASKET

in Freewriters2 years ago

We only spoke inside closed doors and tinted windows. I never got to see your smile, and you never saw my eyes. We were always in darkness. But we loved it. I never asked for more, and you never tried to hold my hand.
people-2559571__480.webp
source
Inside that darkness, I saw your world through your words just the same way you saw mine. We spoke of galaxies and specks of dust. I was sometimes led to spill my demons, but you never showed me yours. Maybe they were scared of me, or it was just you being you. Either ways, I never pushed.

We were too comfortable in the darkness that we forgot about the light. Neither of us brought out a candle to see better or clearer for we only needed the outline of our bodies. Not to caress, but to see and feel each other's presence.
99pyU5Ga1kwr5Xg46gnE3BrdGQcYkevrMfGqYdeMUG2g4qZ8xRgM7yTegQpRUswvwuFYUvdkdNKdSAuiDv6yvstGBVwqQKDx6s2vs6Tf752vm9jyUVEz3m5FxiLBWfgMqY.png
It was all good until I was alone. I never felt you back away from me. You just disappeared. No trace. No sound. Nothing.

I only had your name, so I followed that one string, hoping it will lead me to you. We always shied away from expectations, but that didn't save me from what I've found on the end of that one string.

I refused to listen to the words that were shoved at my face. I couldn't believe the stories they told about you. They were all bent and broken in a way as if you hid your soul from them. I nodded my head and tried to hide my disgust from the hideous world you were forced to lived in.

I realized too early that they never heard you laugh. If they did, they wouldn't be telling me these stories. It was all lies. Piles and piles of lies. But out of curiosity, I followed them.

I hated black clothes, but I forced myself to wear one. I hated funerals but I still went. I saw as they cried and screamed your name. I felt nothing. No tears came for I believed the lady in the wooden box wouldn't be you.
99pyU5Ga1kwr5Xg46gnE3BrdGQcYkevrMfGqYdeMUG2g4qZ8xRgM7yTegQpRUswvwuFYUvdkdNKdSAuiDv6yvstGBVwqQKDx6s2vs6Tf752vm9jyUVEz3m5FxiLBWfgMqY.png
I waited till they all left. I slowly approached the casket and lifted the lid. The lady was no stranger. I had come across her once, but I didn't know her name. Still, no tears came. Right when I was about to close the wooden frame I saw the faint on the edge of her folded hands. I froze.
pexels-photo-7317678.jpeg
source
I stared at it long and hard till the memories collided. Then I saw more scars. I saw all they tried to hide in the expensive gown you wore. It was YOU. I recognized your pain and I knew I had found you.

For reasons that were beyond my knowledge, I laughed. They heard me, and before I knew it I was pulled out from the room you were kept in. They saw me break apart. But I wasn't done. I went back to our dark room and broke the windows and let the light in. It burned my skin, but it allowed me to see...EVERYTHING.

I painted our sorrow and joy. I traced your smile on your broken lips. I felt you wiping my tears. I remembered the day you bared yourself in front of me. And now in the light I saw you. That was when the first tear fell.
99pyU5Ga1kwr5Xg46gnE3BrdGQcYkevrMfGqYdeMUG2g4qZ8xRgM7yTegQpRUswvwuFYUvdkdNKdSAuiDv6yvstGBVwqQKDx6s2vs6Tf752vm9jyUVEz3m5FxiLBWfgMqY.png
I went back after some hours. I refused to wear black this time around, so I wore your favorite color, blue. They wouldn't have let me in, but they saw my broken eyes and let me through silently.

I walked to your casket once again and stood beside you. You were trapped in the eternal darkness, and I was standing in the light. I mourned the loss of your soul. I opened your casket and saw your beautiful face. I wished to see your eyes. I wished to feel your heartbeat.

I regretted all the time we never had. I bent over to feel your lips on mine. And then I prayed for the same miracle, the same magic that once raised Snow White to bring you back to me.

Sort:  

Congratulations @davidbright! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 600 comments.
Your next target is to reach 700 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Bee ready for the 2nd Hive Power Up Month challenge!
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This is really sad.
Man you good could not move an inch while reading you got me fam
Nice one you've got there

This is incredible stuff. Your use of words and everything about this story is good. You even followed the four stages of pain( can't remember where I heard it from),Denial, anger, grief, regret. Great work.

I found your post using @dreemport

You just added the final touches to this piece.. Thanks for that.. And truly these are the 4 stages of pain.. I appreciate your comment..

You have a wonderful writing style that keep the reader gripped to the story till the very end

I found my way here via #dreemport

Thanks so much sir.. I am glad you love my writing style.. Cheers..

👍🙂👍

This is so deep,
Your words describe the emotions felt so well and I felt sucked in while reading.

Meanwhile, #dreemport brought me here.

Thanks so much for your comment.. Am glad you enjoyed reading the story

Amazing one really, I enjoyed the read even though it's a sad one 😞 and really touching

You couldn't accept her death immediately, that's very expected and really made me emotional 🙄

You and all these your write ups, I'm still wondering when I will write like you 😒

Got here through @dreemport

I know that you know that I know that you are better than me when it comes to creating powerful write ups... I wish I can write like you.. God help me..

Am glad you enjoyed the piece.. Am still hoping she would be raised just like snow white was raised... 😏

😂 She will raise, let's be waiting.

Your write ups are still way better than mine, don't allow me argue joor

Such an emotional story. It's always hard to forget someone especially when we won't be able to see them again. We all hope death shouldn't be included in our journey but sadly, we all would close our eyes in death someday.
@dreemport

It's really so sad to know that death is inevitable.. I just wish there is nothing like death amongst us... God knows best.

Nice shot!

I know that it's one of those stuff said by Golfers. Heheh. But it's a suitable remark for this post.

Nice shot. You nailed it.

Losing someone to death always leave a mark on people. The dead is in agony, but the living?

What those left behind pass through is beyond words.

Got to this post through @dreemport

It's always so painful losing a loved one but what can we do?... Death is inevitable.. We all must die someday.. I just wish there is a way we won't feel pain whenever we lost a loved one...

Thanks for your comment

!LUV this! Great writing. I was drawn in from the start. Heartbreaking and cathartic at the same time.

Thanks so much for your comment.. Am glad I was able to capture your interest from the very start.. I hope to keep delivering...

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@davidbright, you've been given LUV from @samsmith1971.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/1)

Awww...not a fan of funerals either.

But what can we do? Death is inevitable so also funerals.. We only choose to or not to attend..