Day 1237: 5 Minute Freewrite CONTINUATION: Thursday - Prompt: sour dough

in Freewriters3 years ago

Image by James Lee from Pixabay

cook-5155873_1920.jpg

“So, I talked to four very confused young women today, Tom …”

That was Mrs. Velma Stepforth, describing her conversations her daughter after their father, Mr. Thomas Stepforth Sr., had talked with them.

“They so wanted to tell me I had no business going back to you because you hadn't changed and you were just getting lonely in your old age and wanted a nurse … but they couldn't because the fact that you had talked to them so calmly and hadn't yelled and had acknowledged your wrongs and apologized messed them up. It really messed them up how you said you were listening to me and had learned from me what things were like for them. They asked a ton of questions, Tom. I answered all of them, and left them even more confused.”

“It's a confusing time I think for everyone but you and Major Tom [their son, Major Thomas Stepforth Jr.]. Our daughters and I are all confused. Humility as power … and God as a Baker ...”

Mr. Stepforth went five for five on the day with the women in his life:

“What?” Mrs. Stepforth said, with a laugh.

“Ever seen how sour dough is made – this wonderful stuff, right here?”

Their sandwiches came … a little bakery in Maryland was among Mr. Stepforth's favorites.

“I have,” Mrs. Stepforth said.

“Sour dough starter is not a pretty thing to see or smell – it's just that, sour dough. It's like trouble: it comes into a perfectly fresh, sweet situation and trouble just rises. The whole new loaf starts to swell and turn sour.”

“Oh, I see where you are going … the baker knows how far to let it go, and then puts it in the oven.”

“Right – that heat isn't necessarily enjoyable either, but it kills the process before the whole loaf is beyond eating, and in the end, here comes this gorgeous bread.”

“So, God as Master Baker … it would take the mind of a billionaire to think of that,” Mrs. Stepforth said. “Systems thinking on a very high level … seeing one system of artistry and mastery as a way to understand another that is yet greater. So, we are all dough in the Baker's hand, eh?”

“We and our situations, yes … I mean, the analogy is going to break down somewhere along the way, but, it was just a thought … it was the skillful mastery I was thinking of.”

“You are starting to see what your daughters really need you to see,” Mrs. Stepforth said. “The world in terms of its art.”

“God is getting his work done on me,” Mr. Stepforth said. “Even a tough pumpernickel like me only needs to be slapped against and kneaded on that kneading board so many times.”

Mrs. Stepforth doubled over laughing.

“I knew you weren't going to stop that analogy with some kind of WHITE bread!” she said.

“Well, Velma, you do know me,” said her husband, as he joined her in laughing and took her bronze-colored hand into his bronze-colored hand.

Sort:  

Somehow I missed reading this one, I love how you worked in the prompt and Humility as power … and God as a Baker ...” good words to live by.

This one was a REAL challenge ... but San Francisco is the HOME of sourdough (according to San Francisco, anyway) so I had to reach deep and remember how it is made...