Day 1306: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: check

in Freewriters3 years ago

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

hook-111316_1920.jpg

To be able to check one's self – to be able to self-regulate one's behavior – is a key element of both recovery and repentance.

Velma Stepforth knew her daughter Melissa was going to make it on Earth and in Heaven when, out of the blue, Melissa checked herself about her behavior just before the breakdown … two months late, but definitely better late than never.

“Wait a minute … that's my mother … I didn't have any business talking to her like that.”

Melissa was in the middle of woodworking when the thought occurred to her, and she stopped what she was doing to think about this.

“I don't even remember what I said, but I know that I was wrong.”

She took off the backpack she always wore, and opened her Bible to I John 1:9 – “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

She paused.

“Okay, so, I'm sorry! I did it! I'm sorry, Lord! Where's Mom?”

Mrs. Stepforth wrapped her arms around her in the next instant.

“I'm sorry, Mom! I shouldn't have done that!”

“God forgives you, and I forgive you.”

“Thanks, Mom.”

Mother and daughter sat and talked and worked things out, and then Melissa called her sisters and every member of the Brown family to confess and ask for their forgiveness. All of them forgave her.

At the end of her day, Melissa went to her father and said, “I think I need what is called anger management help, and I think I have needed it for a long time.”

“Well, you're my daughter and I had to get that kind of counseling, so I'm afraid I may have passed that on to you,” Mr. Stepforth said, “but that means we can go to therapy together sometimes.”

“Yay!”