Day 1718: 5 Minute Freewrite CONTINUATION: Wednesday - Prompt: construction site

in Freewriters2 years ago

Image by Lars Peter Witt from Pixabay

summer-g5f35a609d_1920.jpg

Mrs. Thalia Ludlow waited an entire hour before going to inquire why fashionable little granddaughter Edwina Ludlow had turned the front porch into her private summer resort, complete with everything but a pool.

“I gotta take advantage of days like this,” Edwina said. “George's days grounded or with Papa are great: I gotta make them my days too. George never thinks about me needing things too – we all lost the same people, and all of us were in foster care, and we all need time to relax without worrying about who is going to pull our hair next.”

“I agree, Edwina. I will speak with George and your grandfather about this with you, if you like.”

“That's good, because I am just about to start doing what Gracie does when Milton gets like this, and what Rob does when George gets like this with him, except my feet are bigger and his shins aren't going to like it and he will have drag marks on his face when I trip him and drag him clear across this cul-de-sac to Papa for punishment. I've already got my tool belt out to get everything the way I want it, and I was reading with Andrew about how men on a construction site move heavy objects, so it is about to go down.”

“Wow, Edwina, that was a lot.”

“It is a lot, Grandma. But I've been through a lot, and I'm done with the whole thing.”

“Kinda frustrated about it all, huh?”

“I'm mad, Grandma. The world isn't fair and I've had enough of it. I just want to grow up here and have fun and be cute and play with Amanda and Gracie and Eleanor and maybe Grayson and Robert sometimes, and sit and read better with Andrew, and have George leave me alone.”

Mrs. Ludlow waited a few moments, knowing that the little girl, having been orphaned, had the complex emotions one would expect – like the rest of the Ludlow heirs, she was growing and the family therapy was helping her find the words she needed to express herself. Her personality was like her grandfather's: passionate, straightforward, no-nonsense.

“OK,” Mrs. Ludlow said. “I think we can manage all of that, Edwina. Just one question: is it all George's fault?”

Edwina considered this.

“No. He keeps putting himself in the way of all of it, though.”

“This is true and we need to get him to stop that, and we will. It will not be a problem, after today. But are you being fair?”

Edwina considered this.

“Not really, Grandma.”

“So, what do you think the Lord Jesus would have you do instead of putting drag marks on his face next time?”

Edwina sighed.

“See, this is why I gotta have days like this,” she said. “I try to think of Jesus, I do, and that's why I haven't beat George up the way he really needs it. But I gotta have days like this to just get my life together.”

“Do you think the Lord gave you such pretty hands for you to be beating up on anyone?”

“Well, no, I am a little too cute for all that.”

Mrs. Ludlow opened her arms, and Edwina got down and ran into them.

“Stay beautiful and not bitter, my darling,” she said. “Papa and I are here to help us get all of this worked out in a way that the Lord approves of and will be fair and loving to both you and George, OK? You're not alone any more.”

“OK, Grandma, OK.”

Sort:  

Hugs to all the Edwinas.

Absolutely...