Day 1856: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: aristocrat

Image by André Santana AndreMS from Pixabay

topper-g8a1a02c41_1920.jpg

The seven Ludlow grandchildren and three Trent little children all were arrayed on their porches, waiting through the part of the recording they were less interested in … “Ah, Signor!” was the scene before the Commendatore makes his second appearance as a marble statue in the opera Don Giovanni, and they were too young to appreciate the humor of it.

Eleven-year-olds Eleanor Ludlow and Velma Trent had their cell phones out and on speaker so the two families could communicate, and Capt. Ludlow, from where he was waiting to enter and sing his role, observed that they were definitely communicating...

“So, basically, this is a story about an aristocrat who is really out of control – Aristocrats Gone Wild,” Eleanor was saying softly to Velma. “This man's whole life had become messing up women's lives for his enjoyment – but then he messes with the wrong one, and crosses the line to murder, and it all goes to pieces after that.”

“Right, because that daughter has a military aristocrat father who is willing to die and come back as a statue if necessary,” Velma said. “Your grandfather is perfect in the role – isn't he a born blue-blood?”

“We go back into English nobility at least 1,000 years on the Lee side, and 700 years on the Ludlow side,” Eleanor said, “but I'm glad we're here because what we see in Don Giovanni is what we as women would have to live through then in addition to the stuffy manners and the costumes.”

“I just couldn't do that,” Eleanor's baby brother five-year-old Lil' Robert said. “I enjoy my life, and I need to be dressed so I can go jump into puddles at any time.”

“Might have been fun to build a castle, though,” six-year-old Grayson said as he looked into the house at his Legos, “but then, we'll do that later anyway.”

“When your grandfather is a born aristocrat, your life could get kinda hard if he wasn't on the good side,” Velma's nine-year-old brother Milton said. “I feel like even us coming from the Jubilees who are noble on the mountain – if they weren't good people, we wouldn't be either.”

“Ain't it the truth,” Velma's baby sister eight-year-old Gracie said. “And, see, THEN what happens is, you get away with stuff and you keep getting away with stuff and you keep getting away with stuff, and then God has to send Capt. Ludlow to come get you or come Himself.”

“And if that is not a good definition of the last day of your life,” Eleanor's ten-year-old brother Andrew said, “I don't know what is.”

“Tell me about it,” Andrew's nine-year-old brother George said. “I must have nine lives, because the way I get in trouble I'm sure I've already lost eight with Papa catching me.”

“You mean ninety lives,” George's eight-year-old sister Edwina said, “because you have been blowing through at least nine a week, and you've been doing it a while. You really need to be careful about those last nine, George.”

“But George doesn't really get got because when does he get away with anything?” Edwina's seven-year-old sister Amanda said. “I mean, even Robert doesn't let him get away with anything.”

“Hey!” George said.

“It's true, though!” Amanda said. “I mean, you and Milton have your men on your necks and you have Robert kicking at your shins too, so you never have to get got out here like Don Giovanni is going to get got once he answers the door.”

“Wait,” George said. “You mean it's a good thing Milton and I can't get away with anything?”

“Just watch,” Andrew said as the music led up to the opening of the Commendatore scene. “It is about to get really clear, right now, why our Papa and Sgt. Trent are doing us all a favor – we don't want to be grown and going through what is about to happen in five, four, three, two ...”

Sort:  

I googled this Kurt Moll The Commendatore Scene' Don Giovanni

I will try to find the entire thing to watch.

You don't have to look for it ... I'm posting it today!

I already watched it, but maybe you posted a different one, I will look for it.