Weekend Freewrite -7/11/2020 - Single Prompt Option CONTINUATION: Hot Water

in Freewriters4 years ago

Half an hour later, General Hamilton, that hard-boiled, hard-driving man, shed a tear as he saw the many gifts made to the Good Neighbors Fellowship in the name of his elder brother, Isaiah Hamilton... and it brought tenderness to his manner as he at last got to his nephew's home and embraced his great-nieces and nephews, Isaiah's grandchildren all.

“Nice way to snatch the initiative back,” Captain Lee said to Captain Hamilton.

“Yeah, Uncle Ira would have been mad if I hadn't,” Captain Hamilton said. “He's a bear of an old man, but when things are set right, then he can be the teddy bear most of the time. Most of the time – but I don't even want to know right now what kind of weaponry he's packing to make sure the house is his idea of secure.”

“Army surplus and old generals who have favors to call in can be an interesting thing, but, right, Ham, you don't want to know about that until after a nice dinner.”

“Speaking of army surplus, I just had a thought based on something Rev. Stone told me … let me get my computer really quick …

Ten minutes later, Captain Lee gravely nodded.

“Everything would fit in right there,” he said to Captain Hamilton. “It narrows down what to look for in the data I sent you, and it would cover all other facts, but proving it is going to be extremely difficult and dangerous. Talk about getting into some hot water!”

“Sounds like the kind of job for us,” Captain Hamilton said, with a smile.

“It does, doesn't it?” Captain Lee said, with a chuckle. “When are you going up to North Eagletop?”

“I had to get in where I fit in – Friday afternoon while my lieutenants mind the store. I'll look off duty, but I will be on!”

“Speaking of army surplus, are you fully equipped to take pictures with and without taking pictures?”

“Harry, you know I have my stuff ready.”

“Yes, I know, but in case you needed something, you know I have your back.”

“Thanks, Harry – it means a lot.”