The Meticulous Killer

gun-4560173__480.jpg
Source

I have been searching for this serial killer for so many years that I have made it my career, and the air I breathe. If I don't get him here in New York, then I have failed my father. Eight years ago, I held my father in my arms as I watched him tell me how much he loved me and how much I meant to him. I watched him as life slipped out of his body. As he took his last breath, I made a promise to find the killer even if it meant going down with the killer.

This killer picks his victim randomly but one thing is common with all his victims, they were all men in their forties and he made sure all his victims had a quick and painless death. Looking at the recent case file of his murder a few days ago fueled the feeling of rage and vengeance I have had for years searching for this bastard. Opening the case file to look at the recorded evidence for the murder and found nothing except, " the killer cleaned it thoroughly". Hissing, I dumped the case file on my desk and picked up my phone as I called my old friend. It rang until someone answered, "I need to talk to Detective Davis." I was expecting the worst but hearing Detective Davis' voice calmed me down knowing I could solve this case.

"How do you know it's a man?" He asked.

"His MO is always meticulous. His killing method always leaves no trace." I said.

He sighed, "Okay let's start looking for a suspect. We'll check the list of people who were seen at the crime scene."

I thanked the Detective and hung up. This case was proving to be harder than I thought. Finding a suspect was more difficult than I thought. The killer chose a victim randomly, it was as if he knew what would happen next and wanted it done properly. I sat down on my couch as time went by and closed my eyes. Maybe there is some sort of pattern and the answer lies in that pattern. I opened my eyes and tried once again to concentrate on the case but before I did the doorbell rang. Jumping I ran to the door but stopped when I saw who was on the other side of the door. A tall handsome man wearing sunglasses, a black leather jacket with a gun attached to the holster, dark jeans, and boots. Standing there waiting patiently was Detective Davis.

"Hey, I think I know how you can find your killer," he said as I opened the door for him to come in.

"How?"

"I think your serial killer leaves a piece of evidence anytime he kills even though he cleans thoroughly. I have carefully studied ten case files for the past 48hrs before you came into town and what I noticed in all the cases was that the television of all the victims was always on and on one particular channel."

Feeling anxious already I asked, "What channel?"

"Football"

"So you're saying the killer must have left a fingerprint or DNA?"

"Yes you are correct. So I was thinking if we could...."

Cutting Davis off, I said, "Let's go now, but the trail gets cold."

Getting to the recent murder scene with a team of forensics to check out Detective Davis' theory, I took the opportunity to walk around the house for more evidence that I could get my hands on and I came across the victim's portrait. Looking at the portrait, I heard Davis call out "We've got something! Let's get going."

"What did the forensics find?" I asked Davis

"They found a strand of hair and a partial fingerprint. So let's hope this will be enough to find your killer"

"Nothing is always perfect you know" I said as we went back home.

The Next day

The forensics result should be out by now, I thought as I punched Davis' number on my phone to call him. It rang once and he answered.

"We have found your killer and this will be a shock to you because your killer is a woman, not a man" Davis said.


Inspired by "the killer cleaned it thoroughly" by @mariannewest with freewrite community. Follow her for more prompts daily.

Thank you for visiting my blog, hope you enjoy the story. 🤗

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @esther-emmanuel ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @esther-emmanuel.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more