A pic is worth a thousand words/Old Baty

in Freewriters2 years ago


Photo Source
I see am white ram resting atop a hill.
I feel it is resting and enjoying the hilltop.

“When that stupid lamb comes back, I will give him a crack on the head he will not forget in a hurry”, Baty the old ram said to himself threateningly. “The little imp always derives pleasure in playing around whenever I send him on an errand”, he pressed on.
Baty was an old ram, the oldest of all the flock on GreenHills and he was a troublesome old ram at that. He always finds fault in anything done and was quick to tongue lash the defaulter, this is why every lamb in GreenHills try to avoid him and to also make ridicule of him when they have the chance.
The lamb he had sent on this present errand was Kicko, who lives with his parents close to Baty’s hut and help him in his daily needs. Kicko had in fact returned early from where Baty had sent him to get tobacco but on not finding the old ram around had quietly gone in and dropped it beside his bed in the hut. Baty had gone out to the toilet some minutes back and did not go in to check.
“I wonder what sort of lambs are born these days, they now behave like goats”, Baty said still fuming.
“Hello old Baty! How are you today?” Janki greeted him. Janki lives about three huts from Baty.
Baty ignored the greeting and kept on chewing his cud.
“Old Baty, you seem worried, is anything the matter?” Janki asked showing concern.
“Do you see me crying? Or am did I send you an SOS alert? Old Baty asked heatedly.
“Sorry, I don’t mean to upset you, I was just showing concern”, Janki said meekly.
“How much concern have you shown to your son who still bed wets at 2 sheep years of age or your ewe daughter who has three lambs out of wedlock? Not to forget your old father who drowns himself in alcohol and sleeps in the milk house?” Old Baty fired on.
“That is alright old Baty! Am leaving!” Janki said and started to move away.
“And don’t forget to tell your young ram Enki to stop smoking hemp around my garden, he should look for somewhere else or I will report him to the hill security!” Old Baty shouted after him. “I wonder why some sheep can’t mind their business, always poking their nose around”, Old Baty said.
He looked in the direction of Kicko’s parents house and saw the young lamb coming out towards him.
He smiled and drew his walking stick closer.
“I hope I don’t miss giving him a good knock at first attempt!” Old Baty said.

Sort:  

I loved this tale and I love old Baty!

Thanks for joining pic1000👍