A Date With The Executioner| FLASH FICTION

in Freewriters3 years ago (edited)

By now, we were about five men left in the open field, although we were twenty a few minutes earlier. In the ugliest spectacle of my life, the executioner had chopped off the heads of fifteen men already, following a linear sequence that began from his left to right. Each time the glittering blade of the executioner's axe dug into the neck of a kneeling man, we saw a head, accomplished by a splash of blood, rolling off to the grassy floor. Firewood would have fared better than men in those horrible circumstances.

It would be my turn in few seconds. I could see the executioner smiling at me while blood dripped profusely from his axe. Like a ripe mango, my head would soon go off the tree of my neck. Once before me, he raised his axe into the air and heavily brought it down on my neck. I felt a sharp pain and sneezed violently.

"Oh my God. Oh my God. Come and see." I heard faintly from a distance. Someone was julibating. I learnt afterwards that the voice was my mum's by my hospital bed. This is the story of how I came out of a coma that had lasted two weeks.

Sort:  

Hi gandhibaba,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Oh thank God you were saved