Moving Away : A Freewrite

in Freewriterslast year


Screenshot (12).png

I’ve been sitting here for almost an hour, and I can’t take it any more. I can’t stand to be around you anymore. I couldn’t wait to get out of here, away from my thoughts and the suffocating silence. I couldn’t wait to leave behind this place that seemed so big and lonely without him. I’ve been here for three months and I haven’t left once.

The only reason I haven’t gone crazy is because the house is so big that even if one person is in a room, there are still plenty of places to go where they won’t find you. I thought it was the last day of summer vacation and I was looking forward to starting school. I thought I would have fun this summer. I thought my brother was going to come home. I thought we’d go swimming in the pool and play video games together, like when we were kids. But he never came back. I was excited, but then he got sick. I’m not sure exactly what happened, but he had to go away for a few days and get some tests done. He didn’t want me to worry or be sad while he was gone, so he told me not to leave the house until his return. I thought I was going to have so much fun. I thought my life was going to be amazing.

But then he came home and told me he was moving away. He didn’t even tell me until the last day of summer vacation. I wanted to scream, but I couldn’t because it would hurt too much. I was excited about going back to school. I didn’t know what to expect, but there was something about the thought of starting over again that appealed to me. It sounded like an adventure, something exciting and fun. I had no idea how wrong I would be.