The Audacious wife part II-A picture is worth a thousand words

in Freewriters2 years ago (edited)


The prompt picture of a house that looks abandoned inspired me to write part II of the story that I wrote a while back (see link: https://peakd.com/hive-161155/@humbe/a-picture-is-worth-a-thousand-words)

A Snapshot into Debra's life from PART I

It took him six years of our marriage to lose interest and blame it all on my "overthinking and insecurities". As if that wasn't enough, he lied straight to my face that he was going on a business trip. Only to be going away with her to our family house that we agreed not to renovate to preserve his childhood memories. My husband Tim crossed the line this time. In case we haven't met, I am Attorney Debra, some call me the AUDACIOUS wife who always puts justice first. Oh Yeah! I earned that name three years ago when I represented a client whose wife, Mrs Wilson was choked to death in our family house. The evidence proved that she was killed by my husband.


png_20220918_022349_0000.png

It still feels like it was yesterday

I will never forget my last walk with my husband down the road to our favourite restaurant. It was on my birthday and Tim had agreed to meet up with the grandma and the son I thought we should consider for adoption. I had told Tim about a widowed client who was worried about his son's fate if the court prove him guilty of his wife's murder. I always discuss my high-profile cases with my husband who is quite useful in helping me crack some of the missing puzzles. So I had also told him about my new client who was a suspect in killing his wife but did not give him all the details that my client is Mr Wilson. When we finally got to meet grandma and son, Tim seem fond of the boy and the grandma who recognised him, although Tim acted all so confused about the excitement to see him.

Just thirty minutes later, My client, Mr Wilson sent me pictures of the man who was last seen with his wife on the day she was murdered. Oh dear, It happened to be my husband! The pictures were taken when they were together on the day she was choked to death. This now explains why my husband's car tracker showed no evidence of him being out of town for work on that day, as he told me. His company car happened to be near the location of the deceased, our family house. Of all the places, Tim took her to our family house which is meant to hold our memories. Tim went too far this time!

What really happened on the day Mrs Wilson was murdered?

Admittedly, I became suspicious of my husband's frequent trips which always included weekends. I found out Tim was having an affair with Mrs Wilson from a friend who saw them strolling together. I felt betrayed by Tim that he could invest all his weekend time in an affair and use the family company's budget to fund his trips. I couldn't gather the courage to confront Tim and give him the freedom to lie straight to my face again. So I decided to tell Mr Wilson about the affair and he had them followed. Honestly, choking Mrs Wilson to death was not part of the plan. Mr Wilson might have lost his temper and since it was all done, he had to frame someone whose more deserving to pay the price. And that was my husband Tim!

image.png

Was betrayal the only motive to kill Mrs Wilson?

The evidence convinced the court that Tim took Mrs Wilson to our family home which is in the woods and 20km from the busy city. Besides the house being in the woods, there is a hiking trail just 3km from our stand and a resort nearby. The surrounding attracts activities like camping and hiking which makes it easy to meet familiar faces along the roads on weekends. On that weekend, it seems like the plan was for my husband to leave the house first to avoid being seen together. Mrs Wilson was supposed to leave last according to the crime scene. But then probably Mr Wilson confronted his wife when my husband left and lost his temper. I was audacious enough to represent Mr Wilson in court and proved my husband guilty of the murder. The evidence proved he was the last person to have been around her on that day.

Who killed Mrs Wilson?

One piece of information that was not disclosed to the prosecutor was that Tim was an identical twin. Admittedly the twin Tom is someone Tim never bothered to even consider in our family tree. When Tim inherited a house from his parents, he felt his identical twin brother also deserved a share even though he was sentenced to 10 yrs in prison. Yep! he was the black sheep of the family who got involved in illegal rhino poaching. I was shocked to learn tom was out on parole 3.5 years ago and he never bothered to visit Tim to at least want his share of the family business. It turns out Tom was very close with Mr Wilson who knew the inside information of the family company including the life cover policy details for the employees. This could have been a great motive for Mr Wilson to kill his wife who would leave him £5 million life cover. Mr Wilson was almost bankrupt three years ago during his trial while I was representing him, but now he is living a luxurious life.

The missing puzzle!

Oh No! I needed to listen to my husband's side of the story on that day. Who was actually in those pictures? Did Tim kill Mrs Wilson? Is it even my husband who has been seeing strolling with Mrs Wilsom? Are the DNA results even genuine? oh Gosh, my husband seemed not to recognise the grandma and the son on the day we met for lunch though they were excited to see him. Could Tom be my husband's impostor? Perhaps I did let my bitterness outsmart my common sense and logic!

Tim was always the one to help me think like an attorney without attaching my emotions in all my high-profile cases. This time he was the suspect and I missed out on the chance to explore his mindset while interrogating him. I need to visit Tim right away, he is the only person who can help me crack the missing puzzle in this case!

...................The End...................

©Humbe 2022
submitted to FreeWriters
This was part II, there will be part III inspired by related picture prompts.

image.png

Sort:  

Wow, intriguing twists and surprises in the story. Nice work there!

@cravis
Thank you!🙂. So Cravis What's your thought on who really killed Mrs Wilson?

This is interesting 👌😃

@Joetunex
Thank you for reading Joe. Debra has alot of questions in her mind. Any thoughts on what really happened to Ms Wilson?🤔

I think Mrs Wilson's killer is her husband or Tom, somehow am inclined to think it is Tom.

@joetunex
Hmm that makes the two of us :). Hopefully we will find out the real killer in part III 🤔.

Cool, looking forward to part III 😉

So Tom is out, Tim is in prison and Mr Wilson lives a luxury life without being charged. 🤔

@wakeupkitty
Thanks for reading!☺️
That pretty much summarise part 2. I'm looking forward to have Debra fix this mess. She needs to find out who really killed Mrs Wilson. If she is right about Tom being the impostor then where does that leave Mrs Wilson? Surely she wouldn't confuse Tom with Tim since she is Tim's PA🤔

There got to be part 3.

Great to hear the prompt inspired you. Without reading the first part this was indeed intriguing.

Thanks for joining pic1000. 👍