My Reflection In The Glass / Freewrite's Prompt by @mariannewest

in Freewriters3 years ago

If given the time, I love looking into my own reflection, whether it's on glass, or mirror, or water, or even on my front camera, or even reflection on my mirror phone case. I always think I look better in the reflection. And I used to be anti-photo, not willing to look at my own photo as I thought it didn't quite look like me.

photo_1563024660_c6bac11d3d56.jpeg

Photo is taken from unsplash.com, captured by 小谢

It had never dawned upon me until one day my husband told me that the only person accustomed to my own reflection is myself. The rest of the people in the world look at me as it is, and the person in the photo looks like me 100%, because that's how I look when they look at me. Not sure whether am I making any sense here. And it's true. When I look at my husband's reflection in the mirror, it doesn't look like him, a bit different as in maybe the chin tilted different side. But, the person in the mirror is the person he sees everyday.

And then... 💡

Suddenly, I got it. The person I see in the reflection is not how I look like to the other eyes when they look at the real me. And then suddenly, I had this feeling - Oh my, and all these years, I did not know how exactly I looked like? And I had only known myself through the reflection.

Believe it or not. I took out all my photos and started to look at my own photos to get used to how I look like.

To accept the real true me. To accept the imperfection. To regain my confidence to look ot own photos. And not to be anti-own-photo. I even braved myself to join the freewrite challenge to selfie with the prompt. @mariannewest will know what am I talking about.

The best is to have self-confidence not based on merely on your outer look. But based on you truly know who you are.

20200721_002850.gif

iw3z5idqf5.png

image

This is another 5-minute freewrite using daily prompt by @mariannewest. You can check her out. I love freewrite because anything goes, no right or wrong, but having fun writing your thoughts or story. If you want to know more about 5-minute freewrite, click here.. Join us as at the @freewritehouse

❤️Love from me❤️
hg4oqe.gif

Sort:  

Thank you for your support. If you haven't heard of VAULT, time to explore. It might be our next payout scheme which I'm looking forward to work with.

https://hive.blog/curation/@hiveupme/hiveupme-latest-update-08-09-2020