The 31 Sentence Contest | A whole different level of free writing

in Freewriters4 years ago

Thanks to @felt.buzz for introducing @tristancarax's The 31 Sentence Contest: Round 18 to me. This is a whole different level of free writing which I'm used too but thanks to both of them, I'm able to further expands my skills in creative writing.

For this week's guide, we're to write according to these number of words in each sentence. This week's sequence is:
8, 22, 6, 12, 19, 26, 4, 7, 13, 31, 29, 1, 27, 18, 10, 5, 11, 30, 23, 25, 20, 21, 15, 28, 16, 3, 9, 24, 14, 17, 2

Yellow Paper Father _ Dad Appreciation Facebook Post.png

"I'm telling you, Number Five hasn't been home!"
"That was seventeen years ago and I'm sure you still remember what happened, there's no way you could have forgotten," Pocco said.
I continued looking through the wardrobe.
"Listen Luther, you have got to stop and listen to me, dammit!"

When I finally decided to look up, it wasn't to Pocco, our guardian that I had eye contact with. My blood temperature went up at the horrible sight of my arrogant and male chauvinistic brother Diego, also known as Number Two in our dysfunctional family.

"What you doing here?"
"You have absolutely no right," said Diego

Diego had placed his hand on the wardrobe door, gesturing me to stop. Giving him my laser eyes and slowly raising myself so that I may be standing at eye level with him, I gripped the door firmly showing him that I wasn't afraid. Pocco jumped off the wooden arm chair and immediately came between us and put his fury paws on both our chest, restraining us from a possible fist fight again.

"Stop !"

"We are all here for the same reasons, to find the real truth about Number Five and hopefully conclude the mystery of the end of the world. And you both need to work together to figure this out," Pocco said calmly without raising his voice. Working together was an impossible thing for either of us.

"No way that will happen!"

Diego was cursing under his breath since he's always respected Pocco. Truth be told, there's no way anyone of us would ever work together again, not after dad passed away a couple of years back due to a sudden heart attack. He was always taking care of his health as such, his sudden departure came in as a surprise to many of us who knew him. Then again, he was also an industrialist and sadistic old man who took in six children as his pet projects, The Umbrella Academy.

"Well, things will have to be different now since all of you are back home," Pocco snapped his fingers loudly. "Now, we have lots to do and with the very limited time, we need to de-brief Number Three, Four and Six."

Pocco was more of a father to us in many ways as compared to Dad. He was the only one who stood by our endless growing pains during childhood and tend to our wounds whenever Dad enforce his test onto anyone of us. Number Three, Four & Six was expected to arrive by supper time, that very same day.

Damn, family reunions!

We've agreed to stay out of each others lives. Though it was more like a silent mutual agreement amongst the step sisters and brothers that none wanted to be associated with one another. Luther walked ahead in front of Pocco and Diego out from Number Five's room. Pocco was always right when it came to matters of great importance for the family.

Then again...


Contest Rules
i. One Entry Per Person.
ii. Inspired by the prompt and follows a set of random number order exactly with the correct amount of words in each sentence.
iii. Prose or poetry; any form and genre of fiction is accepted.
iv. It must be a story. Refer here for an explanation of what the essential elements of a story must contain in order for it to be considered a story by me.

Sort:  

"The Umbrella Academy" - nice touch. The numbers made me feel uneazy and disconnected from the characters (in a good way). I recently watched the movies "Resident Evil" again. "The Umbrella Corporation" ran tests and experiments with/on people, too. Very creepy.

It was pretty tough writing a story with number of words restrictions.
There's so many times that I write more than I should and I had to trim it down.

Yeah.. I started watching The Umbrella Academy and somehow inspired me to share my version of it. Still got several more episodes to finishing the season though.

Interesting subject. Good luck

Thanks so much ..
This took me a while to come out with a story following the guidelines

The Freewriters Community is pleased to support the 31 Sentence Contest!

Reblogged, Upvoted, Tweeted:

You have garnered support from the @bananafish community. We appreciate your fine work and hope that you will continue to produce awesome content for us to feast our minds on.

Thanks so so much for the support