Beatrice's Birds -- a five minute freewrite

in Freewriters3 years ago

bb header.png

Image is CC0 and courtesy of Pixabay

 

Beatrice's hair was a bird's nest. Not the typical bird's nest that signified a mess of unbrushable curls and knots, but a literal bird's nest complete with tiny birds, shattered eggs, and poop. So much poop. I wasn't sure if her hair was naturally white and grey or if it was dyed that colour by the bowels of those feathery creatures.

Chirp, chirp, chirpity chirp-chirp.

By the Gods, they were noisy little bastards. I clapped my hands over my ears and shot Beatrice a withering glare that she didn't bother to acknowledge. Of course she didn't -- she lived in her own little whimsy world that most certainly did not include myself or our actual, physical surroundings.

Her ignorance was hardly a surprise but was still offputting. How did she put up with the flappy, poopy buggers? How was it possibly possible she could ignore the mess they were making upon her scalp? What did she do when it was time to bathe, to sleep, to participate in various bedroom activities with her husband? Did she ever remove the nest or did it stay there, interwoven with the strands of her hair, every minute for all time?

One of the birds squawked, flew up into the air, then perched atop Beatrice's shoulder, relieving itself as it landed.

Eurgh. Disgusting.

I grabbed a glass of champagne from the tray of a very convenient waiter and spun about, turning my back to Beatrice and her birds. That spectacle wasn't worth glaring at anymore. Surely there were nicer, more pleasant things to gaze upon during this most holy occasion. After all, the golden peacock would be arriving any moment now.

Hopefully one of Beatrice's budgies wouldn't tarnish it.

I raised the glass to my lips in an attempt to hide the uncontrollable smirk. Wouldn't that be just awful? She would be thrown out, tossed upon the curb, her and her disgusting little birds. No, no, we couldn't have that... could we?

 


 

Hellooo! Today is day #1283 of @mariannewest's five minute freewrite challenge. The prompt for today is -- bird's nest -- and you can find more information at the following link:
https://peakd.com/hive-161155/@mariannewest/day-1283-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-birds-nest

After writing this up I read it to my partner who had the audacity to inform me that in the movie, The Hobbit, there is a guy with hair just like Beatrice's.

I've never seen that movie. So, obviously this just reinforces the fact that nothing is original, everything's already been done, and it's just the creator's personal flair that makes it differ.

I'm up to three freewrites in eight days now! That's good. I'm being creative again. 😁

Thank you for readiiiiiing! 💃🙃😊

✨❤️✨

Sort:  

LOL reminds me of an episode of Family Guy.

untitled.gif

Of course! That's because a bird bird bird, the bird is the word. 😅😁

untitled.gif

Hi kaelci,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you!! 😊