Coffee And New Paralegals | Five Minutes Freewrite

in Freewriters3 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20210218_164201.jpg
source

From Esther's diary….

Cold mornings like today make me want to stay in bed like forever but work calls. I squint one eye open and glare at my stupid alarm clock on my bedside table. 5.44 am. Ugh. I turn off the alarm button, drag myself up and dress up for work in my elegant, expensive skirt suit. Need to look my best as I welcome new paralegals as their head and give them a tutorial of how it works at Noodles & Penderis, one of the prestigious law firms in South Africa.

I take the elevator straight to the top floor, stop at the kitchenette to grab a cup of coffee or else, I will be cranky for the better part of the day.

Some kind-hearted staff had worked the espresso machine and filled the coffee jug. Maybe it's Lila. I pour a mug. Just a sniff of the sweet aroma and I'm smiling when a petite, slim, and sweet-looking lady walks in. Seeing me, she stops, deciding whether to come into the kitchenette and share the space with her immediate boss or go back.

I stare at her from the rim of my coffee mug with my left eyebrow raised (I've been told it's endearing when I do that but uncomfortable for a person meeting me for the first time. At this point I don't care. The coffee was yet to take effect).

"I-I-sorry. Um, I'm one of the new paralegals…", she stammers.

I sip my coffee, still staring and enjoying her discomfort. She reminds me of me when I first started here. I think I like her already!

2YRZBi4FZVHeQQfitmdxPPgLtSu1HuSyXtTCpRF9N1ZcMUXDB7ptaErLjqGRQxz5Rir3ttiLte9Z2X1RnyguV51uGxnyoctzg7Q2.png

I hope you enjoyed reading my piece. This short story is a five-minute freewrite inspired by the prompt "espresso machine". Join @freewritehouse to receive daily prompts, hosted by @mariannewest.

Sort:  

Hmmm🤔 I love this freewrite story heheh. Then the main character here I guess is not a morning person just like me. She also the bossy type, also good at her job and her love for coffee is cute. The slim sweet-looking lady I think will connect well with the main character.

@Penderis there is law firm in your name here 😂 in South Africa 🤔. Coincidence I think not🤷‍♀️🚶‍♀️🚶‍♀️🚶‍♀️.

An interesting story you have here @kemmyb 😉

Lol, thanks. I mean who doesn't like coffee?
Disclaimer - the characters in this story have no bearing or connection to anyone I know. 🤐🚶‍♀️🚶‍♀️

Hi @kemmyb,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 44 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
2

He likes her, because she is a bit proud like her.

It seems unbelievable but first impressions always count, and sometimes they deceive us.

These 5 minutes were good. @kemmyb

Thank you for reading through 🙂

Congratulations @kemmyb! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 800 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Advanced posting
Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!


Congratulations @kemmyb!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Advanced posting

Yay! Thank you for the new badge 🍀

Bring it let's wash it😈

Congratulations on becoming a minnow @kemmyb 🎉🎉🎉

Thank you!

You're welcome @kemmyb

BTW, I noticed I miss your witness vote 😢
Would you mind casting one to me? It would be much appreciated!

Haha awkward stares are the best, unless the person you are staring at is bigger than you and has tattoos... Wow flashback. Anyway I think it is very apt that Noodles & Penderis have coffee on tap, and hopefully, the paralegal is not stupid I might want to work there.