She Hid Her Bruises: A Five Minute Freewrite

in Freewriters3 years ago (edited)

screenshot_20210111_164644.jpg
source

Sundays are my best day of the week because of a 90-hour shift at work. I look forward to Sunday every week like it's Christmas. I dragged myself out of bed into the kitchen and turned on the coffee machine. After a hot cup of coffee, I am good to start my day.

As the coffee brew, I heard some loud barking and growling coming from outside. These canines! I shook my head, refusing to move from the stool where I lodged myself. Lady will not get me out of this chair until my coffee is ready, I thought to myself. The growling continued which then turned to whines and cries. I knew Lady, my pet dog was in trouble. I left my coffee still brewing and ran outside. There she was in a fight with Mr. Peterson's labrador.

Ugh! I had gotten into an argument severally with Mr. Peterson my neighbor to keep his labrador in his premises because the dog loved to stray into my house and hump Lady. Lady was just not ready to get into a romance with Mr. Peterson's dog.

I get outside and see the two dogs in a fight, Lady trying to get away from the Labrador while it fiercely tried to bite and hurt my dog. I screamed, "Peterson!"

"What?!!", was the response I got from the adjoining house.

"Get your dog off my property or I swear to God I will kill him!"

An old man with his reading glasses on, wearing jumper pants ran gingerly to the fence and whistled, calling his labrador back home.

"Jeez! Mrs. Qwan, take it easy!"

I stared him down, bent and scooped up Lady into my arms, and strolled back in. Lady seemed grateful I came to her aid, lavishing me with saliva all over my face. I touched her hind leg and she whined and withdrew it from my hand. I could see some red patches where the fur was gone. I tried to get a good look, she won't let me. She hid her bruises from me.

My heart broke a little. I think I might make good on my word this time and call the police!


I hope you enjoyed reading my piece. This short story is a five-minute freewrite inspired by the prompt "she hid her bruises". Join @freewritehouse to receive daily prompts, hosted by @mariannewest.

Sort:  

Oh I did enjoy reading this. Poor lady. You need to get a restraining order😅. Lady needs tending now.

Hahahahah... What is this?
This comment was just like a #tinytale and l have already zoomed out of this post but it kept bugging me so,
I opened the post again
Read the comment again
Clicked your Profile
&
BOOM.
I saw PlotQueen written somewhere 🤣🤣🤣.
Woww...
I'm a newbie here so, handle with Care.
9ice D.P😋

Let me know what @Kemmyb have to say about this

I smell fish here. Are you sure you aren't mistaking here🤔?

Hahahah... It's possible but the handwriting on the wall is too tempting to be overlooked.

Benazir Ibrahim...
Isn't that you? 😮😮

Lol, you too stop checking people's profile! 😏😏

I don't know what you're talking about oo

Posted using Dapplr

And she certainly got tended to!

Heheh, the plot queen eh? Who would have guessed? @Kenechukwu97 fished you out for me! 😁

Well, welcome to Hive @kei2. This media could certainly do with some of your juicy tinytales!! 😄👍

Thank you dear. Don't listen to him at all. He likes to talk I see. Let's just say plotqueen is here.

Hmmm... I don't think that Mrs. Qwan have any reason to treat this through legal proceedings. Just forget the law and get a very sharp knife from the kitchen 😋

You know the rest 🤣🤣

This is a very nice one from you, Lady K. It's a very touching freewrite that made me to feel the pain of LADY while she was trying to hide her bruises from you.

Nicely Done

And do what with the sharp knife?! Omg! Mr. Peterson would run for his dear life and pack from the neighborhood! 😄

Love it! God knows I won't be doing any favour of calling Mr Peterson next time.

Do take care of lady😊

Lol, me too!
I'm glad you love this story. Thank you