The Quest.

in Freewriters2 years ago

Source

The rhythm of Dad’s best music filled our sedan as we drove on the dusty road. We were relocating into a new apartment in a suburban area. Dad got a new job in the town better than his previous one hence our reason for relocating. I (maverick), my parents and my kid siblings (Toby and Grey) were the only occupants of the new model Toyota sienna Dad had gotten few weeks back.

The roads was dusty and the trees were bereft of leaves. All thanks to the end of the *The *****fall, most deciduous trees at this point were already loosing their leaves for the winter season. At the foot of a tree were a scurry of squirrels helping themselves with the nuts that had fallen with the leaves.

I made sure to get it all on my small Nikon camera Dad had gotten for me on my 15th birthday. I was documenting our journey. I documented almost everything I did. It wasn’t for fun, it was for my YouTube channel that had a whooping 16 followers which was mostly my family members and a few friends plus my doctor friend who lived opposite us from the house we just moved out of. It’s was my highest number of followers in my three years of consistently vlogging.

We drove through a narrow deserted road and just before the old fountain was the an old gigantic building that looks like had been abandoned for years. Surrounding its entrance were shrubs of dried trees. Which made it seem like it was been guarded by the dried shrubs. Just like a house out of a horror movie. I was definitely going to make a tour of the building for my followers. I didn’t know how I was going to get through those shrubs but definitely I knew wasn’t letting go.
I quickly got out my camera again and got a shot of it.

We got to our new house. It wasn’t like our old one which was bigger size and way cozier. But it looked calm and homely. Apart from not having enough scenery I could get contents for my vlog I loved everything about it. We were going to bond more as a family considering how small the building was as compared to our former house. Dad said it was for the meantime.

After dinner, I lied to everyone to be that I will be retiring to bed. When I had other intentions in mind. A tour of the old abandoned building.

Grabbing a flashlight, I made sure everyone has gone to bed then I jumped out the window and headed straight to the old building with my camera carefully hanged round my neck. I was sure this building was going to give me the views I needed to be famous on YouTube.

I got to the building and made my way past the dried shrubs and into the house. As I opened the door and got into the house I felt this cold chill like I was warped with a duvet soaked in ice. At that moment I grew doubts about my dangerous adventure, but my quest for views kept my clinging to my camera and filming.

I was almost done with my tour when I heard the door of the entrance close with a loud band. Then a cold frail voice yelled.

“You stupid kids again. I warned you bunch of disrespects not to tamper around my property” the voice said. Then I heard loud footsteps making it way up the stairs to me.

I froze to my knees. Quickly I switched off my flashlight and hid behind the door. At that point I knew I had to do something. I had to find a way to escape before the scary voice finds me. I looked round the room and found a window, lucky enough it was halfway open. I quickly dashed to the window, and squeezed myself in it. Carefully making sure not to open it up more so as to avoid making noise and attracting the voice downstairs.

I jumped down the window and twisted my ankle. Holding my breath not to scream I ran back home limping without looking back. Just when I was home and back in bed nursing my twisted ankle. I realized I had lost my camera jumping down the window.

I vowed never to tour an old looking building again.

©️ Kingobonnaya 🖊️.

Sort:  

Congratulations @kingobonnaya! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 700 replies.
Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ Meetings Contest
HiveFest⁷ - Participate in the Balls of Steel tournament and get a new badge

Did someone live in that house? Limp back and get that camera!

Thanks for joining pic1000. 👍