Dead Battery - A Freewrite

in Freewriters4 years ago

freewrite copy 5.png

She wished that there was a full moon. It would be so much easier to see anything at all. Running through the forest in this deep darkness was almost more than she could take.
It wasn't the first time that she almost fell. The stupid phone battery was dead of course. The one time she really needed to have some light.
At least, she didn't hear any noises behind her.
This was worse than a nightmare.
How did she get here? The party had been so much fun and the house out in the woods was the romantic touch everyone praised and thought so special. Driving out here with a friend was another bad idea. But there was no time to think about that.
Just keep going. Running was not really what she was doing. All so dark around her.
Wasn't there supposed to be animal noises in the forest? It seemed there were when they walked out to the forest with a drink in their hands. But now, all seemed quiet. So quiet.
They were ut there when they saw a fireball where the house had stood. And she started running without thinking. Not even sure if he was running with her or if she was running from him.
Who would do such a thing? Was it his doing?
And why had he asked her to walk out with him?
What was the plan?
All she knew was to keep moving. Moving away from whatever was happening behind her in the forest.

This is a freewrite to the prompt: Dead Battery. Find the Daily 5-Minute Freewrite Prompt on my Profile. You are invited to join us on Discord https://discord.gg/RD8Zef

Sort:  

Very suspenseful. I relate to the walking through the woods and your phone being dead. Back when I used to play Pokemon go, that game entice me to go to some crazy spots at weird times weird hours. I remember walking into the woods of cemetery, all in an attempt to take down a Pokemon gymn. It was so dark I couldn't tell which direction led to the street. And after a few minutes walking I realized I was heading in the wrong direction. The dense woods were blocking my gps. Moments before the phone died. After few prayers, followed by a few moments of mental realignment. I was finally able to get out of there. Swore in my prayers and I would never go back in there. If I coukd just find my way out.

That must have been scary!!

Oooh, so many unanswered questions! I guess that's the beauty of a 5-minute freewrite; we sometimes have to imagine the rest of the story.

Yup :) sometimes, the reader has to participate :)

You really built up excitement. And so many unanswered questions...why the fireball? Where is he? This was like being lost in a bad dream.

hahaha - it could be a bad dream :) that is all I could get down in 5 minutes... But I think he was a bad guy...

But I think he was a bad guy.

:))

As an aside: In my last blog I tried to name Freewriters as a beneficiary but made a mistake and named freewriter. Your prompt last week (lost cats) was part inspiration. In the future, if this happens again, I guess I should designate Freewriters?

I'm too obsessive to do 'freewriting', but I love the idea.

Thank you for thinking of us!! Probably the best is the @freewritehouse account since we are upvoting the freewriters from there.

hahaha - being too obsessive. Just try it one day with the most dangerous writing app. It will erase everything you wrote if you stop for more than 3 seconds. That forces you to keep going...
You don't have to publish it. But it might give you something different from what you usually do to polish later :)

wow, what caused the fireball , obviously made the animals quiet.
Just when you need to see where you are going

Thanks for sharing this #freewrite

bomb? leaky gas line? on purpose or accident? So many questions lol

I feel like I've had a dead battery all day, on my phone. We went and voted today and there was only two of us there. 😁

at least there were no trees in you way you couldn't see because no flashlight :)