Tax is Due

in Freewriters4 years ago

freewrite copy 6.png

Tax is due the mosquito says, and relentlessly, without mercy, is plunging her stinger into my arm, leg, or whichever place she can find and starts sucking.
Pay!!
Pay!!
From everywhere I can hear the chorus.
Tax is due!! pay up - sucker!
And you have no say what happens to what you pay. Your blood, your money that you earned with blood and sweat and a sore back - is gone.
Paying for soldiers to fight wars that cost more blood. Blood of so many people. There are countries where the soil must be soaked with the blood of all that have died there. So sad.
And we see the pictures and our stomachs turn.
But we pay the tax.
We see people protesting in the street. Saying that your taxes pay for the police that is murdering us!
And our stomachs turn but we pay the tax because we don't know what to do.
We could not pay.
Is that enough?
Or is it just going to land us in prison and we can shed our blood there.
Not paying or paying it forward. Use our money to support those that want to make a difference.
But - is it the right thing? Are we supporting those that really are making a difference or are they upholding the status quo in a different way?
We only know what we know and that is not a lot.
One group says do - the other says don’t: That is definitely the wrong thing to do.
So confusing.
The mosquito knows what she wants - your blood.

This is a freewrite to the prompt: tax is due. Find a Daily Freewrite prompt on my profile. Join us on discord in the Freewrite House https://discord.gg/mdTNYk

Sort:  

I feel your pain.
July 1st Is Canada Day; Fireworks, Festivities, Food and Friends (at a distance)
July 2nd is "Robbery by Taxation Day" Via my Property Taxes due. Enough said.

Hope you are not getting robbed too much! At least in Canada, you get some services from your government...

I will be finishing my NYSC program this month. It's a requirement in my country to get job.

So when I do start working, I guess I will decide how much of a pain paying taxes are.

it all depends if you get some good stuff for your taxes :) Like healthcare, good streets, a fire department - I am happy to pay for all of that. But other things, I am not so happy about...

Woe, this is intense @mariannewest

It is Tax time here in Aus, so I know what its like,

But wow , lol

#engageonhive

:) You know, the freewrite. It just spills out...

that's a very sensitive subject
I'm glad at the degree of transparency in my country, and despite that, there are some scandals being discovered every while about the corrupted management of the country's wealth. Still, discoveries and scandals (that lead to fixing things) are better than mysteries and secrets!

For sure. Here, we can see the budgets too - but there is so much money being spent for things that are not helping the people - in my opinion. And tons of waste...

and tons to support other countries that don't need nor deserve the support ...

There are some taxes that are legal and justifiable, and others that are not. Unfortunately, we don't get to pick and choose which ones we pay, because this isn't a free country at all. We are all slaves.

Well, freer than some, but I don't think there are any countries where an individual can do whatever they want.
Wait.
I lied.
If you are one of the super-rich, you can do whatever you want anywhere...

WOW. I enjoyed reading your post. I love how you drew the mosquito blood sucking and taxation comparison. Quality stuff.

Thank you so much.

You're welcome

Let it flow, let it flow, Freewrites are the best 💕

!trdo 🙏

Thank you!!!

This is really nice

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.