A letter to my Future Self

So here we are at the last of the three letters that I was going to write myself.

I sent myself a letter more than a month ago addressed to my past self. A letter to my past self two weeks ago

Here I attempted to address the pain and bitterness I felt when I was passed over fair increases and promotions.

I was trying to make sense of what I lacked and if something was wrong with me. I tried to shift the blame towards myself. I was even doubting my capability.

I did not want to be stuck in that mindset and asked myself to shift my thinking. Then I did.

The 2nd letter was made exactly a month ago and it showed a more optimistic person. A letter to my present self

You almost let yourself live rent-free in your head and believe that you are not worthy. You fell down and almost stayed there.

I am glad that you took the steps to dust yourself off and seek something better.

There were times that you got rejected and had bad interviews but you moved forward. You got 3 offers!

Finally here we are.

jon-tyson-srDKOjF3rSY-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

A Letter to Future Mave

Hey there Mave, Today is going to be our first day in a new company.

I know that you are nervous. For almost two years you spent your professional life in the Yellow and felt that you did not receive the acknowledgement and support you were looking for. It happens and so I am glad that you moved on.

It is a new team, a new system and it will take some time for you to adjust to things.

Yet you have always been good at adjusting. We have received so many lemons in life that we have been accustomed to their bitterness. Remember to peel away and use the juice inside to make lemonade with a dash of sweetness.

You have prepared for this. You are ready to take the new challenges head-on and showcase how valuable you will be.

Don't aim for perfection as it will hinder you at times at making decisions. Aim for the best version of yourself today.

You got this!

Lovingly,

Past and Present Mave

Sort:  

This is really cool hehehe
its like Ghosts of Christmas Past, Present, and Future - except you control them! :)

I love how you're using a letter to address the issues that are plaguing you but set out to change that mindset into something that WILL achieve what you're hoping for.

it's my favorite way of dealing with things... writing them into existence hehehe

nice to see you :)

Hope you get that new job with the new company - and hope that its even closer than you think! heheheeh 😊

Hey Dreamsteem! yeah this is a technique we use in CBT (Cognitive Behavior Therapy that helps us in refocusing especially when we feel so overwhelmed.

It was suggested that I write it down so I give it body and a means for me to break down my feelings and thoughts and be able to make a positive change!

Thank you for dropping by. Always great to see old steemians still in hive

hehehe yeah i was gone for about a year on another platform - had a blast!!! but then.. it died. hehehe

I still peeked in here from time to time - but now i'm back for a bit :)

I agree - always fun to see old friends! heheheh

and yes -i also agree - writing is a powerful powerful life-changing tool!!!

Good luck with the job searching! these letters are great to track achievements, new goals and even lessons from the past. Hopefully, you'll get that new job in a better system and workplace.

I started a new one and I am on my second day. So far so good!

Great, I am inspired to do the same but won't share it on my hive blog hehe, it's just a very very private thing to me.

Congratulations @maverickinvictus! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 42000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 43000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation