A letter to my present self

This is part two of a three-part series of letters that I am writing myself.

This is a bid for me to try to get better mentally as my counselor suggested I write three letters addressed to my Past, Present and Future Self.

If you want to read the letter I sent to my past self and what happened you can check it in this post.

ravi-roshan-_AdUs32i0jc-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Ravi Roshan on Unsplash

"Dear Mave,

How are you doing today? I know the last two weeks were tough but I am happy to see that you are still here and fighting for another day.

It was tough as your feeling of self-worth was so low and you were on the brink of letting them live rent-free in your head.

You almost believed that you were not worthy.

Yet I am proud that you fell down, wallowed a bit in the bitterness and pain but afterward dusted yourself off.

You then updated your resume and looked for new opportunities. You were trying to be selective of the companies that you were applying to.

You wanted a good company that treated their people right, one that you agreed with their goals and aligns with your own.

I am glad that you are doing this because you know your worth and if they cannot see it then move to one that can better appreciate your talent and what you can bring in.

Your skills matter. Your experience matter. The energy and drive to excel matters. You matter.

Then you started getting interviews. You knew there were some good ones and some bad ones but its okay as you can't win them all. If you fail just move on.

This week you received three proposals. Three companies that saw something in you and you not only received a higher pay but even a promotion. You are that good.

I am genuinely happy for you and I hope you take this opportunity and be grateful that you took the chance. That you didn't let the demons in your head tell you that you are not worthy.

Please remember that tomorrow is another day. Another chance for us to be better.

Regards,

Past Mave

Sort:  

Hey man. I just want to say that I am glad you are here.

Thanks man, still trying to fix my head and all but still here.