Day 1093: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: intrigue

I could hear the clicking of her heels on the wooden floor as she crossed the passage to my office before she even knocked.

I had my eyes closed, nursing a whiskey and I thought I'd pretend to be not around.

I was tired of the game and yet the bills were piling up. I had to get my ass out of the couch and do some work.

I tell her its open and she enters wearing a red dress hugging her figure. A wet black umbrella on one hand and a lit cigarette on the other.

alexandruaceadP5ZnIE4A40unsplash.jpg

Photo by Alexandru Acea on Unsplash

I look deep into her green eyes and knew she was trouble six ways into Sunday.

Did I even want to know what the case is now?

She smiled and I was entranced. She knew that she had me.

I could smell the faint scent of her perfume and I wanted more.

This is why the devil wears red...