Are We In A Movie?

in Freewriters3 years ago

"The movies are powerful," said Robot 1. "Especially when we are in them."

"Are we in a movie?" asked Robot 2. "I wasn't aware."

"We could be," said Robot 1. "This could all be a stitch up. Maybe everything we are doing is for the entertainment of others."

"I don't think so," said Robot 2.

"Why not?" asked Robot 1.

"Because we are not very exciting robots. What would be the point?"

"We've had a few adventures," said Robot 1.

"Yes, we have. I'd like to believe that they are real."

"Yes, me too. I'll stop thinking about it. We are not in a movie. We are not being stitched up."

"But what if we are?" said Robot 2. "We should at least discuss and analyse the possibility."

"Yes!" cried Robot 1. "Let's do it."

"I know an easy way to find out," said Robot 2.

"Ok," said Robot 1. "How can we find out, for sure?"

"We close ourselves down for two weeks. If we are really in a movie, someone will intervene. Nobody will want to watch 2 robots sleeping."

"That's a great idea," said Robot 1. "Why not make it a month? Just to be sure."

"Ok," said Robot 2. "When we go to bed tonight, we'll program ourselves to sleep for a month. If nobody intervenes, we are not in a movie."

"Just one thing," said Robot 1. "If we're going to sleep for a month, shall we go out tonight and party?"

"Of course," said Robot 2. "Let's have some fun."

The robots hit the town and had a great time. They laughed and danced.

But it was now time for their sleep.

"Hey," said Robot 1. "If nobody intervenes, then we should go out again and celebrate."

"Of course," said Robot 2. "We'll have fun again."

"Goodnight," said Robot 1.

"Goodnight," said Robot 2.

dark-park-3461023_1920.jpg

Freewrite, prompt by @mariannewest

Thank you for reading. I'd started writing another story, but ended up scrapping it. It could have been taken in bad taste (not intended) which I didn't like. So I decided to write another. I like this one. So even if a story ends up being scrapped, it can be the catalyst for another idea.

I also didn't plan to leave this open ended, but when the robots wanted to party, I had to let them.

Sort:  

I like this story, thanks for sharing. Greetings

Thank you very much for reading. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Hi mr-neil,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.