Divided Loyalties

in Freewriters3 years ago

"One day, all of this will be yours."

That's a nice offer, but I don't really give….

6087439_L.png

My father may be the owner of our local football team, but my loyalties still lie with my hometown, just a few miles away.

I still have a yellow and blue heart. My father is now red and white.

"I don't want this team, you should give it to someone else."

"But you can run this club better than anyone else I know. Are your loyalties really that strong?"

"Yes, Dad."

"Son, please reconsider. You don't have to support the team. In fact, that could be your greatest asset, not having that emotional hold, instead, relying on your business acumen.

At this point, I'm starting to warm to the idea.

"I'll really need to think about this," I said

The one thing that my father always said, and something I so strongly believe, is that football is about what happens on the grass.

On the grass, our teams will play each other in a play-off semi final over two legs.

Note: a football match played over 2 legs (matches), home and away. The results are combined (known as an aggregate score).

"I'll make a decision after the season finishes," I said. "Let's get this tie out of the way. I've got my tickets. I'll be at the right end of the ground."

Whilst I was enjoying the football on the grass, I had something to think about.

And there it went. The 1st leg, away. My team has scored in the last minute of the match. A 2-1 victory. We will be playing in front of our fans with a goal head start. That makes us strong favourites.

However, things don't turn out how you think. A 4-1 defeat at home means that we are knocked out. What a collapse.

However, that defeat has made my decision very easy. Everything is clear and I know exactly what to do.

5995164_L.jpg

Freewrite, prompt by @mariannewest