Holiday of the Sun (Freewrite 1000)

in Freewriters4 years ago

A mysterious broadcast is heard across the planet Earth.

1149144_M.jpg

"I regret to inform you that I need a holiday."

Doesn't sound so bad. Everyone needs a holiday. Why broadcast it across the globe?

"Why don't we ask this mysterious voice?" thought a citizen of the planet.

The voice continues.

"I'm going on holiday for 10 years?"

"10 years? That's a long holiday. Why are you telling us?"

"Because I am the Sun," said the voice. "Who is your leader?"

The citizen of the planet took a moment to think. The leader of the planet isn't the most trustworthy person in the world. So he decided to lie.

What is the first name to pop into his head?

"Anakin Skywalker," said the citizen.

"Anakin Skywalker?" replied the Sun. "Where can I find him?"

"Why don't you just continue your broadcast?" said the citizen of Earth. "Everyone can hear it anyway. Everyone."

"I'm going on holiday for 10 years," said the Sun.

"10 years is a long time."

"I've been working for a billion years without a day off," said the Sun. "10 years is not a long time."

"It is for us," said the citizen. "That means 10 years of darkness."

"Only thinking of your own needs," remarked the Sun. "What about my needs."

"What needs do you have?" asked the citizen. "You just move around the sky then disappear at night. Not exactly taxing."

"I have needs," said the Sun. *I might want to educate myself."

"I can't dispute that you need to do that," said the citizen. "You don't even know who our leader is."

*Yes, I do," replied the Sun. "It is Anakin Skywalker."

"Ok, I have news for you Sun. It is not Anakin Skywalker."

"Oh," thought the Sun. "I thought he would have been here by now. After he turned to the dark side, and became Darth Vader, he had the desire to rule the entire galaxy. I was just wondering how that was going."

2724885_M.jpg

Freewrite 1000 is here
https://hive.blog/hive-161155/@freewritehouse/day-1000-we-event-is-here-win-250-hive

I just wanted to get this story out before I decided on how to enter the contest.

Thank you @mariannewest for the prompts and the support. I had never written creatively before (yes, that's true).

I no longer get to write every day and I've had a few long breaks (I have 2 young children and I'm a teacher), but I always come back.

Sort:  

That was soooo much fun.
And I know that you are busy and we always love it when you come back.
Even if you try to kill the freewriters once in a while :)

Always a pleasure (the writing, not the killing of course)

Awesome !!!!
I totally did not expect that ending !!!
🤩🤩🤩

Me neither, when I was writing it. Anakin Skywalker really was the first random name to pop into my head.

Haha 😁😁😁