The Outburst (Freewrite)

in Freewriters3 years ago

This moment is not the moment for me. Today, I'm just watching and listening to the outbursts of everyone else.

That's not to say that those outbursts are not justified. The situation is not good and could have been avoided. On another day, I may have been more angry about it.

But today, I am not.

My mind is ticking. I think I can see a bigger picture, maybe. Or, perhaps, I've just become apathetic.

I don't know and I don't want to analyse it.

So, I will go with the moment. I'll keep one eye open, just in case.

I just can't help but suspect that there's an evil lurking behind this all. I'm not sure, but I do suspect. If there is, I also know that I can't get involved in the same way I did before. Not yet, anyway.

Patience is required.

This is a good thing, I hope.

What happened to my reactive self?

In my new found calmness, I did ask myself one thing.

"What do you want out of this situation?"

In the past, my answer would probably have been, "I want to win."

But all that has done has led to more conflict.

I look back and think, I could have handled so much better. But I don't regret starting something that needed to happen.

"It was the best thing I ever did."

Someone needed to be stood up to. Otherwise, it would have all continued and more lives could have been wrecked.

So what about today?

The situation I find myself in today is different and should be treated as such. It doesn't need to be handled with conflict. Not for now.

IMG_20201229_144939.jpg
Picture is mine, taken in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates earlier this year.

Freewrite task, prompt by @mariannewest

Sort:  

Congratulations @mr-neil! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2750 replies. Your next target is to reach 3000 replies.
You received more than 1000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 2000

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Now, when I find myself on one side of a polarized issue, I question my own assumptions and understandings. We all must do this. Those who firmly believe they are on the side of right, and the other side is evil, have been the most mislead.

Nice freewrite.

Yes, totally agree; and that is what my freewrite was about. That said, I have had an experience with a bad egg. Even then, I eventually made peace. I do have to remember that the bad egg was a one off.