5-minute Freewrite by @myjob

in Freewriters3 years ago

IMG_20180919_181920.jpg
This is my post for #freewriters Sunday prompt life is not without risk hosted by @mariannewest

Being on the river day after day the one thing you can count on is that life is not without risk. My husband says that when you sink your boat there will be a chain of events. Like the time I sunk just south of Morris flat. I had an old wooden boat that was low to the water, it leaked as most wooden boats do. I thought I had a foolproof plan, I put 3 bilge pumps with switches in it, one in the bow, one in the middle, and one in the stern.

I saw bad weather coming and was trying to get to the bridge where I could take cover. Needless to say, I did not make it to the bridge. The wind picked up to 30 or 35 knots out of the north and I was still south of the bridge, one wave came over my bow, I knew it was too much water for the little pump to keep up with, so I tried to give the motor more gas to get the water to run back to the 2 other pumps.

I knew that I was screwed and turned toward shore. Now water is coming in over the side. I ran it until the motor hit bottom and the waves overtook the boat. I jumped overboard put the motor on shallow drive and pulled the boat as close as I could get it to shore. Everything went to floating out of the boat. I pulled the motor all of the way up and got the boat turned where the stern was onshore so my motor would not go underwater.

I found my bailer and started bailing. Once in a while, a wave would still come over the side but I was making headway. I finally got it bailed out and anchored with the bow into the wind. Then I walked down the shoreline and gathered all of my belongings. I was soaking wet, and in a bad mood but I got everything going again and went on fishing after the storm was over.

This is how fast the weather can change. I had to feed the bait so when I got to the dock I could see a storm coming, I snapped this picture of it because it looked like it was going to get bad. Notice how calm the water is.

IMG_20210613_153756_4.jpg

I fed the bait and as I dropped the holding pens back in the water, all hell broke loose. The wind was blowing so hard that I had to lean into it as I walked back down the dock and it was still blowing me to the other side of the dock.

IMG_20210613_154617_7.jpg
I was happy to be back in my truck.

IMG_20210613_154841_1.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @myjob! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Thank you, again. :)

You're welcome @myjob, that's with pleasure 😊🌹😊🌹😊🌹
We hope you're having a happy buzzy week!!!

Thank God you survived ... like I said, your life is very REAL ... the risks are REAL!

By the way, yesterday on the news here in San Francisco, everything you explained to me about what is happening in the rivers was explained in the same detail -- so now, it is known across the country knows that important species are being killed, and why. Even the lack of the true seagrass was mentioned. The manatee, and its vast deaths from starvation, are the reason it came out ... protecting it may rise to the federal level ... so new people are paying attention.

wow, that is great news, the sea cows, (manatees) are dying from eating what we call rolling grass, it is a type of algae and it is blocking their digestive system, they can not "pass" it through their system. It is sad. I wish the federal people would get involved. The Federal people came here in the late 80s or early 90s and they named our river a brackish water lagoon, If they came now they would not find any freshwater.

MAYBE, just maybe, President Biden will get around to actually putting teeth back into the Environmental Protection Agency, but that's not going to move up the list for a while ... it will take the environmentalists and concerned citizens to make the matter move up the list.

You are creating an immutable record on Hive of what is happening in Florida, and to the ecosystem ... that's a start. Who else can document what they see? Everything that is ever restored has a start...

Many years ago this state did the same thing to Biscayne Bay in Miami, my Dad told me that the bay had beautiful flats full of seagrass and had plenty of trout, he said when the state came in and dug the canals and stop the freshwater from entering the bay, all of the seagrasses died and they no longer have trout. At the time of him telling me this, I thought he was crazy for thinking this. But now I see it and how they convinced the public that the freshwater was bad. Where ever there is development the one thing they need most is freshwater. They also did it to Tampa Bay. They put the Apalacheecola oystermen out of business in the pan-handle of Fl. You had the right words for the powers that be, they are pure EVIL.