5-minute Freewrite by @myjob

in Freewriters3 years ago

IMG_20180919_181920.jpg
This is my post for #freewriters Tuesday prompt dog dancing hosted by @mariannewest

We still have our granddaughter's dog. I think it has been over a year since she had to give her up. For whoever did not know, she started fighting with their older dog and try as hard as they did to keep them separated, they still got together and fought. The last time my daughter thought she shut the door to her bedroom, it did not latch and her older dog got out. The two dogs were fighting and my daughter tried to break them up and she got bit.

My granddaughter was heartbroken that she had to give up her dog. Which broke my heart and even though my husband said we are not getting another dog (he took it very hard when we lost our dog) he gave in and we took the dog until the older dog passes on. I did not know that she does not like men, or it might be his beard.

After having her this long she still barks at him. He takes this as an insult, he tries everything to be friends with her. I do not give her treats, he does. He tries to pet her and the entire petting time her tail is stuck between her legs. She comes over to me and I pet her and she wags it like a fan back and forth. Every night before going to bed he sits by her and while petting he says "why Shasa don't like me? I never be mean to Shasa. I like Shasa". She likes to lay on the couch and as soon as he sits down she moves to the other end and gives me this look like she is saying help, he is petting me.

He lets her out when he gets home before I do. But she will not come back inside until I get home. When I drive up to the gate, she does her dog dancing jumping in the air, spinning in a circle while still airborne. She stops and looks at the front door, if he does not open it she will bark because she knows that I will not come through the gate until she goes in the house. He opens the door and she runs inside but as soon as she hears my truck shut off she is barking to be let out.

She is a good dog, but she has found a way out of our fence, I can not find where it is, but all she does when she gets out is run around to the front yard and barks to be let in the gate. I think it is a game for her. Her only fault is she likes to dig. I had to put a big piece of weed mat at our front door to keep her from digging holes. She likes to lay under our big boat and has dug a hole big enough that now when we will need it we will have to jack the tire up and fill in around it.

IMG_20210613_163323_5.jpg
This is one of the holes that she dug, I put a piece of wood over it to keep her from digging but when it rained it either floated off or she moved it.
IMG_20210210_111315_1.jpg

Sort:  

Awe, she's a lovely pup. Hopefully one day she will come to trust your husband too.

She does not like thunderstorms and gets under my chair when we have one. Today I was not home when one hit but my husband was, she got under his desk with him sitting at it. I take that as progress.

That's a start for sure! That's awesome.

We have diggers here too. Just repaired a part of the fence. It's hard to leave them alone and not supervise them. Not all of them like to break free. Mainly one female does and the boys follow her. There are holes I leave because they sleep in it... One wrecked a part of the shed's wall. What I don't understand is where the sand goes to.

That is a good question, where does the sand go?