5 minute freewrite Monday prompt the wild

in Freewriters2 years ago

image.png
This is my post for #freewriters Monday prompt the wild hosted by @mariannewest

As much as I love this vine that I call the Jack in the beanstalk vine, It is a pain to keep under control. If I do not keep it trimmed it will take over the entire yard.

image.png
A few years ago there was this pair of horned owls nesting in it. But I have not seen them in a couple of years.

image.png
This grass is what my husband says is elephant grass. I spent yesterday pulling it up from all around Jack's tree. I do not know where it came from but I pulled all of this and another huge bunch of it. Something in *the wild must have dropped a seed or seeds and it spread like crazy. I am paying for pulling it today with back pain.

As I was pulling it I could not help having the thought about do plants have feelings. When you yank them out by the roots, is it like someone grabbing you by the hair and yanking it out?

I never knew that animals in the wild had feelings so why can't plants?

The history channel has a tv show called Alone, they place people in the wild and the one who can stay the longest wins, I think they are allowed to take 10 items. They have to build their shelter and hunt for food. A lady set a snare and caught a squirrel, another squirrel was standing over it and it was clear, it was grieving. This was the saddest thing that I have ever seen on tv. It makes me look at wild animals in a different light.

image.png

This is why I was so saddened over the baby bunny. The next morning I went out to the nest to put a fence around it and the little bunny was gone. I am believing that the mother moved it and not that something got it.
All photos are mine

Sort:  

I see you had a canine "helper" in the yard. So do I.

She is always "under feet", (I mean a big help.) lol

!BEER

thank you @eii


Hey @myjob, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.