5 minute freewrite Saturday

in Freewriters2 years ago (edited)

image.png

This is my post for #freewriters Saturday prompt sweet and sour hosted by @mariannewest

Why does life have to be so sweet and sour? As soon as you think that things are going well something will come along and stop it. This is how life is when you are a fisherman. We were catching good bait but were not catching much fish. The bait disappeared and I started catching fish.

I spent days looking for bait and used up the last of the bait that I had and my motor had a hole in the engine block. My husband took the bait traps and went north with them but did not find any bait, in a last-ditch effort he threw them out across the channel near the clam leases. He found the bait. But I am still broken down.

Now, this Wednesday it is a law that we have to pull all of our crab traps out of the water for 10 days. They do this so they can pick up traps that ignorant people put out and leave. Without crabs, it will be harder to get bait. So if my motor is fixed tomorrow I will put 4 more crab traps in the river. I am hoping to catch enough crabs to freeze in hopes that they will get us through the 10-day closure.

image.png
The hole in the middle is where the spark plug goes, right above it is the hole that water was pouring in.

image.png
I used a Dremel tool and sanded it then used Marine tex to fill the hole. I wanted to put two coats on it but ran out so for my second coat I used JB weld.

I let it dry for 24 hours and sanded it, I put the gasket and plate back on and started the motor, it leaked in a different place.

image.png
To the right of the spark plug, there was a tiny indent, I filled it with JB weld, and tomorrow after it has been set for 24 hours I will sand it and put everything back together. Tonight I will pray that there is not another place that leaks.

image.png
This is the outside plate, I always take a picture when I take things apart because there are two different size bolts and this way I know the longer ones went in the top holes.

photos are mine

Sort:  

Wow ... that really is a great example of sweet and sour in real life on the river...

Yes, it always works this way. Also as soon as you figure something out, things will change.

That sure is both sweet and sour on many levels @myjob, either fish or bait but not both at the same time, and one plugged leak onto the next one, I hope it all works out, enjoy your new week and stay awesome.



Made in Canva

!ALIVE
!CTP

- @flaxz - Admin/Moderator


This post is AWESOME!
It will therefore be highlighted in our daily Curated Collections posting for today.
The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Hive ecosystem by rewarding it".

Source

@myjob! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @thisisawesome. (6/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.