5 minute freewrite Tuesday prompt poachers

in Freewriterslast year

GH014512-5.jpg
This is my post for #freewriters Tuesday prompt poachers hosted by @mariannewest

This morning when I anchored, I got 3 of my 6 rods cast out and before I could pick up the 4th one, I had a fish on my first rod, it was a pompano. I was reeling it in and could feel the gears slipping in my reel. Wouldn't you know that this was the rod that caught most of the fish today? Go figure.

I had another double, but once again, one got off. When I got the one that was left on the hook in the boat, they had tangled my line. I use a braided line and once it gets in a knot it is hard to get untangled but this time I got it out.

image.png
This is what happens when a fish gets in the line from a different rod. The only way that I could get it untangled was to cut the rig on the line that had the fish, which pissed me off because it was a new rig that I used one day. The entire time that I was untangling it I was praying that I would not get a fish on the line that was still out.

I ended up catching 11 pompano and my husband had 11, he took them to the fish house and weighed them, and got ice for me to go tomorrow. They weighed 55 pounds, so we had another good day.

image.png
This is my husband, he has an umbrella to sit under while fishing.

When I got to the boat ramp, a woman was there who always takes pictures of me and my catch, she posts the pictures to FB. I told her that I did not have any fish on my boat, I had already put them in my husband's boat so he could take them to the fish house. He had pulled his boat out right after me. She walked over to him and wanted to take a picture. He told her no. He did not want the fish to be put on FB for two reasons. One is because tomorrow there will be 30 boats running all around scaring off the fish. The other reason is poachers. There are a couple of people who still net fish, I do not know how they get away with it and I am torn on how I feel about it. On one hand, I think, if you can get away with it, more power to you. Then on the other hand, it hurts us by putting a bunch of fish on the market, making the price drop.

photos are mine

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 141 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!PIZZA
8

Fantastic to hear about your great catch @myjob, sorry that the line got tangled though, and I hope that the area was not overrun by other people afterwards, enjoy your day and stay awesome.



Made in Canva

!ALIVE
!CTP

- @flaxz - Admin/Moderator


This post is AWESOME!
It will therefore be highlighted in our daily Curated Collections posting for today.
The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Hive ecosystem by rewarding it".

Source

Thank you @flaxz, no one found out about our catch, but in the end, it did not matter, the fish were not there today.

@myjob! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @thisisawesome. (6/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

The complications of a "simple" life ... and protecting it in the age of social media ... your husband is on the job!

Yes he is, I would not have thought about it being spread over the internet, I would have let her take the picture.

They did well in making the decision not to publish the photos, because nowadays people are really envious and they would surely damage all the peace in their fishing place.

Stay calm there and do not share anything, this time it is much better that you keep this place to yourselves.

Fishing is usually fun, except when those things happen to you, like your line gets tangled. But they are things of the trade my friend.

I love visiting your blog when I have time! I appreciate you very much! <3

!BBH
!LOL
!MEME

How do you turn a duck in to a singer?
Put it in the microwave until its Bill Withers.

Credit: basilmarples
@myjob, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @contagio

Have you tried the !gif !lolz !meme combo? It is a wall of fun!
(1/1)

@myjob! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @contagio. (2/5)

@contagio thank you for stopping by and commenting. Fishing is fun when you are catching and not fun at all when you are not catching.

!ALIVE

@contagio! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @myjob. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Well, I suppose that for you it represents much more because it is your livelihood.

For me, I am only an observer, I tell you that it is something that relaxes me a lot, whether I manage to catch an animal or not. The mere fact of the challenge of capturing an elusive fish makes my friend very attractive.

You know I always like to come here.

I like to watch people. I have always said that when I retire, I am going to get a folding chair and sit at the boat ramp, the people using it are comical.

You don't need to retire to do it, the fun can start whenever you want hahaha.

I'm not retired and eventually every time I can find an opportunity, I do it, just for the mere satisfaction of laughing with myself for a while.

Of course, people stare at me because I'm laughing to myself. They probably think I'm crazy :)

Every day I see people in chairs watching the boats pull in and out, so I would not be alone.

Awesome, i have to say i envy you hahaha, on a sane way tho.

Thank you for sharing your fishing adventure @myjob! I haven't fished in years, and definitely not at the level that you do! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

Thank you for reading my post @tydynrain, you should try fishing again, some people say it is relaxing. lol

Most certainly! Perhaps yes! I live in an ideal location for it! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

Yes you do.

And there are lots of people who fish too. usually from the rocks or beach. 😁🙏💚✨🤙