5 minute freewrite Tuesday prompt the smell of decay

in Freewriters2 years ago

image.png
This is my post for #freewriters Tuesday prompt the smell of decay hosted by @mariannewest

Have you ever smelled rotting flesh from a manatee? It is one of the saddest things to see and the smell will knock you over. They can not take cold weather and even though I live in Florida where people think that it stays warm year-round, it does not. If they do not make it to an outflow from a power plant when the temperature drops, this is when they die from the cold. It is terrible because they are struggling to survive. Since the river crashed they do not have the food that they need, they have been seen halfway out of the water eating someone's yard grass.
image.png
Not as sickening as a dead manatee but when I pulled our bait pen up and all of the bait was dead because we got a lot of rain and we had the pen too far up the creek where it turned to all freshwater and it killed them, they are a saltwater fish.
image.png
Don't come in from fishing tired and not clean your coolers after having sailcats in them until the next day. I will only do this once. Tired or not they get cleaned as soon as I get home.

image.png
This dead fish looked like it would be very bad to pick up, I took the picture and let it be.

image.png
This is another sad thing. I do not think that it had been dead for long, the ants had not found it and it was not stinky, I do not know what kind of bird it was but I think it is a baby heron that fell out of the nest.
image.png
All of these things have the smell of decay from being dead, but these slickers of mine are the worst. When you sit in them with all of these holes, catching fish between your knees, slimy and wet in the summer heat, it is bad. They are now 100 dollars for new ones. I can not afford to buy them, but I found a pair in my husband's shop, they have fewer holes and do not smell.

One more thing that smells and it smells worse than my slickers and that is my grandson's feet, I think he has a problem, it is bad, bad, bad....

I did not fish today because they canceled my app yesterday for the x-rays of my wrists and knee. I went to it today and when I got home, there was a message for me to call them. I did and they told me that the technician took the x-ray of my hand, not my wrists, did I want to come back in today so they can take it of my wrists? No, I don't. The office where the doctor is at does not have an x-ray machine so I had to go to the next town to get it done and I was not driving back there again today. I want to fish tomorrow, then Thursday I am having a procedure on my back so I told them I will do it Friday. I hope that I will feel up to it on Friday.

All photos are mine

Sort:  

You have taken us through a tour of the hardest parts of real life ... death and decay... in the midst of life... well done.

I see too much death. I even feel bad for the fish that I kill, but I know they are feeding people who can not catch their own.

That is how to look at it ... you are a good steward of even death itself, so that others may live... would that more people had that sensitivity!

Yes, it would be a better world if people were more like me and you.

!BEER

thank you


Hey @myjob, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.