Fishing together

in Freewriters3 years ago

IMG_20180919_181915_LI.jpg
This is my post for #freewriters Monday prompt mixing colors hosted by @mariannewest

Today we did something that we have not done in a very long time. We fished out of the same boat. When we went to the fish house to get our ice my husband told them that if only one of us came back for them to call the law, he said because there had been a homicide. I did not see his humor.

IMG_20210222_105101_8.jpg

We knew it was a bad sign when we got to the boat ramp and there were only two vehicles there and one of them was the girl who grows oysters.

When we got to the inlet the tide was ebbing and we tried drifting while we jigged but the tide was too strong so we anchored. We tried every kind of tackle that we had, even mixing colors and nothing wanted to bite. I was tired of all of the casting and reeling in. I put a double hook rig with two big leads and threw that out. It was not there long and I caught a fish but it was a catfish. They are not good. I got it off and threw my line back out and caught another catfish. I threw it out again and this time something big hit it, the line went to zipping off my spool I knew it was too big so I tried to grab the spool and break it off but it straightened my hook out and got off.

My husband put an artificial fish-looking thing on and threw it out letting it just lay out in the tide while he fished another rod with a goofy jig. Something big hit his artificial fish and his line went to peeling off of the spool and finally broke the line.

After putting that rod back in the boat he cast his goofy jig back out and he had a fish on it. When it got close to the boat we saw it was a pompano and I grabbed the landing net and dipped it up just as the hook fell out. I shudder at the fit he would have thrown if he would have lost it.

We fished 6 hours for one pompano.

IMG_20210222_105105_8.jpg
This was my childhood home, I spent my first 15 years here, it is now known as Sebastian Inlet State Park.

Sort:  

I'm glad no one died. lol. Love your freewrites. Sorry about the bad day.