Five minute freewrite by @myjob

in Freewriters3 years ago

141128050_4127809313915791_985670719633587155_n.jpg
This is my post for #freewriters Tuesday prompt suspect hosted by @mariannewest

I spent all day today being a tour guide. My ex-daughter-in-law and my grandson are visiting from New Jersey. He is now 16, the last time I saw him he was 10.

$R0DNS1K.jpg
He was so small
IMG_20210413_153919_1.jpg
Now he is taller than me. He looks so much like his dad, his eyes are identical to his dad's.
I took him and his mom up the south prong of the Sebastian River.
IMG_20210412_103433_7.jpg
His mom told me that for all the years that she has been coming down here, she never suspect-ed to see all this beauty. I told her that this is what Florida used to look like when the Ais Indians were the only people here.

IMG_20210413_161956_3.jpg
Then I took them up the North prong and saw this dolphin it excited them more than the gators that we saw in the south prong.

IMG_20210413_163737_3.jpg
Mr Ruffles saw me and followed everywhere we went, they thought it was great that a pelican knew who I was and follows me around.

Sort:  

Six years is a long time and suddenly boys can grow fast. I guess if I ever see my grandson again in real life I won't recognize him and he won't recognize me either. You are surrounded by beauty indeed. It sounds like a great day.

I wish you are able to reunite with your grandson, they do grow fast but I would have known him anywhere. I am thinking you would know yours. I have always said that I always thought I could not love anyone more than my own kids, then came grandchildren.

That was cool. To be able to share with a grandchild after so long! I have not seen mine for 3 years now and it feels like a whole life. It will feel weird next time we meet.
That part of florida certainly looks pristine. It's a good thing, I gues that despite all the urban developments there are still places like this.

Like I said to @wakeupkitty, I wish you get to see your grandchild soon. Yes, it is a pristine place but getting smaller with time, one side of the creek they have built some houses but the other is a buffer preserve, no one can build on it.