Five minute freewrite by @myjob

in Freewriters3 years ago

141128050_4127809313915791_985670719633587155_n.jpg
This is my post for #freewriters Friday prompt potted plants hosted by @mariannewest

Back when the river crashed we lost 50 thousand dollars worth of clams that died and we did not know what we were going to do to make a living because fishing was bad, too. I had never lost faith in the fact that something would open up for us.

One day I went to the dump and there was a stack of black flower pots sitting on the wall. People place things there for someone who might want them to take. Something told me to take them. The next week I was driving and saw a plant nursery that was out of business. My husband's mother was in real estate and she got the owner's phone number for me. I called him and asked if I could buy all the old potted plant pots. He told me that I could have them if I took everything that was there.

This is how we started our plant nursery. At one time we had over 2,000 potted plants. We were having plant and yard sales and for about 4 years that is how we made our living. It got to be too much on me and I told my husband I did not want to keep doing this. Now we only sell one kind of plant, we sell areca palms, and can not grow them fast enough, this year I sold out of them in a week and a half.

IMG_20190221_121756.jpg
We gather seeds in the fall and plant them in one-gallon pots,

IMG_20190221_121523.jpg
when they get to a foot high we transplant them to 7-gallon pots and they stay in them until sold

IMG_20190221_114635.jpg
usually 5 to 6 feet tall.

Sort:  

Congratulations @myjob! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 900 posts.
Your next target is to reach 950 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Governance
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you @hivebuzz

You're welcome @myjob! That's a great achievement, keep going 😊🌹

These are beautiful flowers, and your transition from clams onto potted flowers was a really brave thing. I'm glad it paid off...

thank you

You're welcome.