Five minute freewrite by @myjob

in Freewriters3 years ago

141128050_4127809313915791_985670719633587155_n.jpg
This is my post for #freewriters Monday prompt television hosted by @mariannewest

I am going to show my age with this post. In a lot of ways, things were better way-back-when. Except television, we did not have electricity when I was a child and cartoons only came on Saturday morning. Getting Dad up to start the generator after he was up late at the bar was a chore. He owned a bar, not that he was at the bar.

After he started it, one of us would stand at the window, another would be outside turning the antenna and the other would be at the television to tell the one at the window to tell the one at the antenna when the channel was clear enough to watch. We only had 3 channels, no remote control and it was only in black and white. We thought it was great. I wish I could go back to those days.....

Today I tried fishing for trout up the creek, I only caught 2 which is as good as I have been doing out in the river and I did not have to fight the wind. My husband ran the pigfish traps and got enough bait for both of us. Then he fished the mouth of the creek. He caught 3 that he could keep and 2 that were too big to keep.

My husband went to the other fish house and asked if they will buy sailcats. The fish house that we fish for does not buy them. They said they will buy the sailcats so tomorrow we will try to catch them. I do not know what they will pay for them but at this point, beggars can't be choosy.

We were talking about how bad of shape the river is in and my husband said "just think about this, us and Joe are the only ones that still remember what the river used to be like".We are the last of the fishermen who were here when the river was healthy..