Oysters

in Freewriters3 years ago

IMG_20180919_181915_LI.jpg
This is my post for #freewriters Tuesday prompt on the surface hosted by @mariannewest

Today I stayed home and worked on the areca palms, pulling weeds and feeding them. I would have rather fone fishing but this needed to be done.

My husband went back up the creek cast netting. He caught 54 pounds of large goats. He told me his first throw was over an oyster bar that he did not know was there. He said the net hung all the way around and he had a hard time getting it unhung.

We used to have oysters out in the Indian Ricer but not anymore. The State has stopped all freshwater from flowing into the Indian River. Oysters want brackish water. Now they only grow up the creek the crazy thing is the creek is supposed to be freshwater but it is not. The freshwater is only on the surface and it is saltwater from a foot down to the bottom. The freshwater floats on top of saltwater.

Sort:  

Well, I didn't know that could happen, with the freshwater on top and the saltwater below! So I just learned something new.