You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 1803: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: side hustle

in Freewriters2 years ago

Glad to be your role model, now I can add that to my list, hehehehe. You got me to thinking about the jobs that I have done to stay self-employed. When my kids were small, I babysat for others, I had 9 kids that I watched. I dug wild clams and sold them, I fished, when fishing was bad in the summer I picked palmetto berries, I grew plants and grew clams from the size of beach sand to the size of tennis balls, and I cleaned houses. I have managed to stay my own boss and you can do it, too.

Sort:  

Wow, this is much.... For a woman, this is amazing.... Currently working on my fish farm..not much flexibility with the time here and opportunities are few but still not going to give up and definitely work things out with God help

Anything that you try to do being self-employed takes a lot of time and work. It would be nice to own a fish farm but here in Florida, there are a lot of restrictions. When we grew clams, we had raceways that we grew them in, I always wondered if they would have worked for growing fish. Have you thought of growing blue crabs? They do well in freshwater ponds if that is what you have and they are worth good money.

Haven't done crabs at all, I'm into catfish and it is good business too.. Not sure crabs will sell in Nigeria

I think you are right about that, they are rich people's food. The only reason we eat them is that we can catch our own. Good luck with your catfish, they are my husband's favorite, I do not care for freshwater fish. We have a big lake where we go to catch them, I do love to do that, and we freeze them for him to eat. I have saltwater fish for me.

Wow, that's cool then....i eat mostly frozen fish even the one I rare I don't eat