FREEWRITE | FRIENDS NOT COMPETITORS

in Freewriters4 years ago

Screenshot_20200626-211923_1.png

I haven't heard from Emilia in weeks and I've been so busy with work, I checked my phone and tried calling her but no response. I decided I'll pay her a visit this weekend,I've missed my best friend so much.
I remember the last chat we had, she complained bitterly about not having a job and how low her finances were.
I packed my bags and closed for the day, my hands brushed past the envelope and I smiled, I know she'll love this surprise so much, it's something she has always wanted. I tried calling again her but it went straight to voice mail, I just hope she's okay.

I booked my ride home, my Uber driver arrived, we exchanged pleasantries but I realised I was barely paying attention, I felt the sudden urge to talk to Emilia. I tapped the driver and gave him Emilia's address.
I got to her house in no time, I knocked but there was no response, I called her phone and I could hear it ring from the house. I kept banging, suddenly she yelled and I was sure she didn't want to see me, I pleaded with her and she unlocked the door. Her eyes filled with tears, I desperately wanted to know what's wrong with her, she talked about how I had it all and how I didn't care enough.

At this point, I knew she was going through a lot, I consoled her and reminded her our friendship is not a competition, we are in this to love and support each other in every way possible. I told her about my surprise package as I handed it over to her. She wiped her tears and tore it open, turns out she got accepted for an internship she had always wanted, she has applied for 3 years without any positive response and gave up. I took it upon myself to apply and she got it this time, she flung her arms around me and a wide smile crossed her face. I love Emilia and I love seeing her happy.

image source

Sort:  

Great story and friendships need to be special not competiton

Not at all, friendship should be great

Thats what i love in the world the friendships that grow with you and love they give you.

Beautiful story.
Having each others back will always top any competition.

You're so right

Loading...