Misplaced! a freewrite

in Freewriterslast year

image.png

It was in the barn. She was sure of it. Maybe one of those pesky animals had switched it to a new place. Maybe more than one of those pesky good for nothing animals had switched it to new places every time they saw her in here looking for it. The pigeons could have stashed it up on the roof for all she knew. She'd go up on the roof today to look.

Over the years, she'd checked everywhere else. She had the hay removed from the hay loft, making the poor boy who did that job for her look through the hay with a fine toothed comb looking for it. Of course she didn't tell him what he was looking for, and she kept a very close eye on him as she helped him sift through all that hay. She sold all the farm equipment and valuable animals so they wouldn't be in the way. The only animals left were pigeons, rats, and a resident snake.

It had to have been the snake. Had to have been him. Who else would know what the little metal tube sealed at both ends even was?

Her crypto keys were missing.

image.png
This is my entry to @mariannewest's daily freewrite challenge. Today's prompt is barn animals.



image

Sort:  

Each time I stop by here for your short story I'm impressed.

I've had a bit of a dry spell. Couldn't write anything at all. So here I am back at my blogging roots, the peeps that are the reason I am still here at all after earning NOTHING for months on end, @freewritehouse. I am just starting to be able to write fiction again. Thank you for your support!!!

You're most welcome. For what it's worth, I like them. What's the most you've released these in a week, if that makes sense.

I mean, when you're running on all cylinders, how often do you post these short stories? I think I remember you doing one or two a week.

Now I am doing two or three a week I suppose. I really feel like I've lost my mojo, and am trying to get it back. I would post more of them but I so often write stuff that is not publishable now, or I sure wouldn't want anyone wasting their time reading it.

When I first started writing freewrites I wrote one every sindle day. It was like getting candy in the mail when the post with the prompt went up. Everyday a decent story would come out of me the first time I tried. The good old days.

And what, they don't do daily prompts anymore?

Not publishable. I so hear you. I'll never admit how much time I spend rewording shortening editing.

Marianne posts a prompt every day, but I don't attempt it every day anymore.

With freewriting, since I want it to be unplanned, I don't edit after the five minutes. Maybe a little proofreading clean-up, but the content does not change at all. But if I can't get off the ground with a story, and what I have written sucks, I toss it out and start again. Or not. There are an awful lot of freewrites that offer no good reason to have read them. I hope I never publish anything like that.

Hahahah, brilliant!

Thank you dahlink. Those best last lines sneak in at the end, when I see the timer is running out and MUST think of something good to wrap it up.

That little story cracked me up!