One Of Those Days, a Freewrite

in Freewriters3 years ago

IMG_20190727_132440261_HDR.jpg

text16.png

The kettle was singing, the doorbell was ringing, the milk was boiling over, the record was skipping, the gutters were overflowing, the timer on the stove was dinging, the dog was barking, and she was pissed because the spoon I had just handed her was

"TOO BIG!!!"

for her mouth.

Just another moment in the life of a mother.

Soccer practice was to start in twenty minutes. We would be late for that. She wouldn't be any happier about being late than she was about the size of the spoon.

I quickly turned my back to her, trying to suppress a giggle. I knew that if she saw my mirth, her anger would escalate.

It didn't work.

"MOM, YOU ARE THE WORST MOTHER EVER ! DO YOU NOT HEAR THE DOORBELL?! DO YOU NOT HEAR THE TIMER?!

DO YOU NOT CARE IF I AM LATE FOR PRACTICE?!!!

You don't care about the dog, you don't care about the gas meter man, you don't care about anything but yourself!

I HATE YOU!!!"

Later that night, we snuggled under the covers of her bed, and talked quietly about how her best friend had hurt her in school that day.

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ 2.png

This is my entry to @mariannewest's daily freewrite challenge. Today's prompt is barking dog.

text16.png

Notice for Newbies on Hive

Real people read your posts in this community! There are no rules!!! A post doesn't suck up your entire day!!!! You can safely let your imagination take flight! You will feel the love!

Try to remember to leave a link under @mariannewest's . That will help us find you. The easiest way to find the daily prompt is to go directly to @mariannewest's blog. Here is today's post.

To maximize readership, you might also post in the Freewriters Community (or @hive-161155), use a first tag of #freewrite or #freewritepoetry, go leave comments on other's freewrites, or any combination of those.

We are good people, it's a no judgment zone, and is an excellent community to get your feet wet on Hive.

text16.png

image is mine

Sort:  

The TRUTH of this post ... getting to the bottom of what is really going on ... well done!

It is pretty much true, right down to the spoon. Which I now will not let her forget, and even she thinks the event is funny.

The "truthiness" of your writing really communicates, always!

This sounds like my house when all 5 kids were at home, I think at one point every one of them told me that I was a bad Mom and they hated me. But now they see things differently and have kids that say they hate them and how they are bad Moms. It tells me that I did a good job. So smile and pat yourself on the back. :)

I would tell them that my mother said to me

when you have kids I'm going to come sit in the corner and laugh and laugh.

She didn't get the chance though. She was medically injured at a pretty young age.

I am so sorry that you lost your mother at a young age.

I was in my fifties, and she in her 70's, so not that young either of us. But I had babies very late. But thank you anyway!

Great freewrite!
I could see the imagery well with your descriptive nature, and the part with the spoon was the best and had me laughing!
I hope you have a great weekend my friend :)

Thanks! It's so nice to see you making moola with your new account! Almost makes me want to take up 3D printing.

The part with the spoon is true.

This was great and I can sooo relate! My mother wanted to come live with me when the kids got to be teens. I all come home to roost!

Doesn't it always?

Thank darlin'! It was fun to write, but unlike most of the posts I write that involve her, I didn't send my daughter this one. She's still my baby, at 24, and I can still make her pretty mad.

I can totally relate! I was serious when I wrote that. I don't think it is an age, I think it is a personality.

I have two daughters and I love them, insanely so. But, I can still make #2 pretty mad myself. :))

That dog of yours was a screamer. Great... I loved it.
Cheers, friend!

Thanks! I loved yours for this prompt.

Hi owasco,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you!!!!